My Promise

When I am asked who I admire, my mind turns to my parents and all four grandparents. When I was growing up, they taught me what love, sacrifice, and eternal mean. Thinking of them leads me to what I want my daughters to learn from me.

My kids will see me put God first. They need to know I read my Bible, I pray to my Saviour often, and I cling to Him for strength, peace, patience, love, hope and kindness. I believe in Him with my whole being. Jesus is my friend and father; where He leads, I will follow. Without Him, I am nothing. My hope is to model Christianity and not simply tell them to go to church.

My girls will know their Daddy comes next in my life. When we were young, we vowed to love, honor, and cherish each other in good times and bad, as long as we are on this earth. He is my best friend, and we don’t keep secrets from each other. Over the years, I have learned to love him more than I thought possible, and he sure makes me laugh. I want my girls to see a strong godly marriage on which to base their own many, many, many years from now.

From the moment they were born, my girls have known of my fierce love for them. They also know of God’s love for them and how to ask Him for help. When they are older, they will know that they always have a place in my heart, but not my home. I will guide and discipline them as they grow and teach them to work hard and make good choices. They will learn to be a friend, to help people in need, and to be kind. They will grow up with a built-in best friend in their sister, even if they don’t always see that now. They will see how proud I am of them and how much joy they bring me.

This is a lot to promise, but I can do it with God’s help. I want my girls to see I am no where near perfect, so they don’t have to be either. Each day is a new day full of promise, which is God’s gift to us after a mistake. I trust God to give me the strength and wisdom to raise my precious children to be who He wants them to be.

What is the legacy you want to leave behind?

 

I am linking this to Holly Gerth‘s blog again. Check her out if you need to be uplifted!

2 thoughts on “My Promise

Leave a Reply

