Confidence In What?

A few weeks ago I took the DISC personality test, and the results are spot on. They seem to explain why I have trouble promoting my blog, anything I write, or myself. I am not dominant and am embarrassed to tell people about things I do. My husband has started pointing out it is my “low-D.” This past weekend I was told I should have confidence in my talents. I should remember I am the only one with my perspective, so my words have value. I need to learn to promote myself because God helps those who help themselves.

Great advice, and I know I can’t be the only one who struggles with this. There are others who are also not dominant but still need to share their talent with the world. (It’s OK. You don’t have to step forward. I understand.) God will use us if we let Him. Are we letting Him?

When I went to the Bible, I found verses about confidence. One is in 2 Timothy: God does not want us to have a timid or fearful spirit, but one of power, love, and self-discipline. So in other words I should be bold, but not arrogant. Self assertive, but not pushy. That may be my problem: I completely believe my words are from God, so how can I claim them? It seems it would be so easy to start hearing I have a gift for writing and believe it is all me. I can do this myself. It is difficult to imagine me being cocky, but anything is possible. So how do I resist pride and stay humble?

2 Corinthians 3:4-5 says “Such confidence we have through Christ before God. Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.” In Isaiah it says that confidence in God gives me strength.

Do I believe in God? Yes

Do I trust in God’s strength? Yes

Do I have faith that God gave me talents to use for Him? Yes

Am I doing that now? Goodness, I hope so.

As I write this, I can’t help but sing, “Hide it under a bushel? NO! I’m gonna let it shine!” God does not want me to hide or bury my gifts. He wants me to use them to proclaim His power and grace to the world. He puts words in me to bless and encourage others. God reveals truth to me using other people, and He longs to use me to reveal truth to them. I don’t think He wants me to put up a billboard with my blog in blinking neon. Maybe He is just asking me to stay close to Him and listen for nudges to be more bold. To always remember that as long as I am using my talents for His glory, I can have confidence.

Whether your talents are writing, music, art, organizing, generosity, encouragement, or something else, remember you can make a difference. If you keep in mind Who this is all for, you can have a holy courage. If that sounds crazy, pray and keep your ears open to when you should share. God does not waste anything, and He certainly doesn’t want His children to waste His gifts!

 

 

Holley Gerth is kind enough to allow me to link to her blog. Check out her amazing blog and books! (See, I can promote others!)

 

4 thoughts on “Confidence In What?

  1. Sarah,
    There is a book that Rebecca and I are reading for the second time called The Dream Giver. The author is Bruce Wikinson who developed Walk Thru the Bible Seminars. In it Bruce tells us that God has given to each of us a divine dream. This dream is often so beyond our training or heritage and can only be accomplished unless God does the supernatural to bring it to pass. The unfortunate thing is that life, family and friends often tell us that the dream is not possible and so we give up the dream God has given. Don’t let anyone ever take God’s dream from you.
    With love and great thanksgiving for you,
    Dad

Leave a Reply

