Every Little Thing

My oldest said I have two jobs-taking care of them, and church. Cute coming from a 7 year old, but it made me think. God wants me to do everything as if it is for Him, which it is. But there are days I feel that what I do isn’t enough. Does it really matter if the house is clean? Is anyone going to notice, especially since it never stays that way? Regardless of my feelings, the truth is I need to be faithful in the day-to-day things if I want God to give me more. I say I want to do big things but then negate it by not appreciating the responsibilities I have right now. Cook, clean, do laundry, help with homework, and teach young minds to love Jesus. I don’t have to be singing and dancing while I do it, but I need to work with all my energy and not take any of it for granted. I need to remember that I get to do these things!

Are you content where you are right now? Do you see the good around you or just what you would like changed? If the answer is no, God would love to help you change that. On those days when you feel insignificant, pray and ask God to help you be obedient in the present. Keep on doing what you are doing and remember that you are the best person for this task right now. You are where you are supposed to be.

We each have a specific purpose in life, but we have one thing in common. Part of our purpose is to be obedient in whatever task we are given, big or small. If we are diligent and faithful where we are now, God will reward our efforts with the next step. We may not know what that next step will be, but it will be perfect for us. Maybe He is just waiting for that attitude shift before He brings. It. On.

Leave a Reply

