Seeking God

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13

I have been equally enamored with and confused by this verse for years. What does it mean to seek with all my heart? Do I normally just use part of it? I picture a game of hide-and-seek. (Why, yes, I DO have young children. Why do you ask?) I apparently can’t find God until I use my whole heart.

To me it means my heart has to be in the right place. Seeking God must come from the pure intention of pleasing Him. It can’t be for appearances, hoping people will see me doing the Right Thing. I have to be on a mission to do God’s will, no matter the consequences. I will probably look silly or downright crazy to the world, but I have to stay committed. Even if I think I am going the right way, if God takes me down a different path, I must follow. If I have the right motive of bringing God glory, my heart is in the right place.

When I seek God, my heart must be in it. I can’t be torn between doing what I want and what God wants. I must be fully devoted to a purpose greater than me. I have to pull out the parts of me that oppose God’s plan and lay them out before Him. Only He can put me back together whole. My own desires for my life must be exchanged for the much better plan God has for me. Then, the times I am in the midst of doing what God wants, I can’t let the enemy distract me. I find it is so much harder to hear God speak when my heart is distracted and divided.

Lately this concept has been getting clearer to me. I must always desire God’s will above my own and pursue Him before pursuing anything or anyone else. My heart is fickle though, and likes to wander off. It is a daily exercise to keep my heart free of clutter, keep it focused on God. Wanting to seek God is not enough-I must work at it. But when I do, He brings me to Him. He has been reaching out to me and waiting for me to bring my heart to Him. When I seek God the right way, the wisdom and peace He brings me are what my heart has been crying out for.

Come back Friday as I look at King David and his heart.

 

Thank you to Holley Gerth for letting me link to her site on Wednesdays!

 

4 thoughts on “Seeking God

  1. Sarah, Good job of explaining this verse in a practical way. Today you remind me of a very little, yet important book: My Heart-Christ’s Home by Robert Munger. You may have read it. In it, Munger deals with how we have kept parts of our lives from God’s eyes and control. Keep up your good blog and especially following the Lord.
    I love you,
    Dad

  2. Thanks for encouraging me to pursue God above all else!-To press on to knowing more of him-true joy and ultimate satisfaction πŸ™‚ Thanks! Stopping by from Holly’s link up today!

Leave a Reply

