Love Affair

“Remember not the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways; according to Your love remember me, for You are good, O Lord.” Psalm 25:7

I was led to this Psalm the other day and today this verse jumped out at me. It makes me think of a love song: remember the good times. I know I want people to remember the good they saw in me, the sweet side. I hope they look past hateful words spoken in anger and the ugly way I acted. I want to be thought of fondly. Don’t we all have that desire?

Your family and friends know a lot about you, but only God knows every thought and action you have had. He sees past all that and sees the good He placed in you. When God looks at you, He doesn’t see your dirty laundry. He doesn’t see you as your past. When God looks at you, He smiles. His eyes crinkle and His face lights up at the mere thought of your name. It is like God is perpetually in the honeymoon phase with you. He is humming a tune no one else knows. His love for you runs so deep it will never run dry. You are God’s creation and He deemed you good.

God delights in you, especially when He can make you happy. I can see Him now, bursting with excitement at seeing your smile. He is clapping His hands and about to jump off His throne to get a better look. He isn’t up in heaven griping to the angels about your latest screw up. He is telling them how big your heart is and how hard you are trying. He is talking about how you made someone laugh. He can’t wait until that next surprise He has in store for you. When you feel lonely, He does everything He can to show you His presence. The God of the universe wants to be near you. YOU!

God is big and real and has a love none of us can comprehend. The love we feel for our family can not come close to scratching the surface of God’s love. We can never deserve it, but He gives it to us anyways. That is a love affair worth celebrating.

image

Leave a Reply

