Be Intentional

Thanks to our new series at NorthStar Church, I have been convicted of how I spend my time lately. Sharing it here is my way of saying I know I am not alone. *Ahem* Unless you live on a desert island, or underground where you can’t get cell service, you are guilty too. Actually with T-Mobile I don’t get service lots of places, but that is a story for another day.

I see all of you out in public, looking at your phone like it holds the answer to world peace. Really, I only see you when I’m not looking at mine. When did we turn into these obsessed crazy lunatics? When did we decide the score of the game is more important than hearing about our spouse’s day? Why is our friends’ latest status updates bigger than time with our precious kids? I know I don’t want my girls to remember seeing the top of my head more than my smile! And I certainly don’t want them following my lead. But how do we stop this habit?

Simple. We don’t. In my power, I can’t say, “OK, I won’t keep doing this.” I have to commit to being better and become intentional. Before being around my husband or children, I have to pray. Lately, before the bus brings them home from school, I pray and ask Jesus to make me more intentional with that time with the girls. I ask Him to help me control those impulses to check email or send a text. My kids will only be this age for such a short time, and each day goes so fast. I don’t want to be distracted from hearing about their day or make them think I am too busy to help them. I need to be available and love them, right here, right now, while they still want my time. My family is my precious gift and I don’t wanna miss a thing. Go ahead and sing Aerosmith if I have put that song in your head.

You’re welcome.

If you are like me, you don’t mean to ignore your kids or spouse. It just happens. Why do we let things just happen? Because that is what Satan wants. He wants parents too distracted to hear the heartbreak in their child’s voice. He wants a husband to feel disrespected by a wife who pays more attention to texts from her hilarious friend. He loves when sisters finally get to see each other but are constantly checking their phones to make sure the kids are all right. Really, the dads can handle it. Satan wants us all to feel unloved, unappreciated, and just plain lonely when we are around those we love most in this world.

The best thing we can do is become intentional and guard our families like they could be gone any day. Because they could. If we pray any time we need it, even if it is 100 times a day, God will help us. He will help us keep our focus in the present, loving well. God knows we need strong families, and a strong family is one who listens and truly hears what each other is saying. Strong families laugh together and cry together. Strong families are strong when Jesus is at the center, not iPhones.

Let Jesus guide you into an intentional life. Your family will thank you.

 

 

Once again, I am linking to Holley Gerth and her Coffee for Your Heart blog!

 

6 thoughts on “Be Intentional

  1. Sarah, Right again! So many have not considered how disruptive and anti-social their personal media has become. You are correct in saying that life goes by too fast, I can remember like it was yesterday the days when you and Elizabeth were the age of Lauren and Kaitlyn.
    You may have already seen it but here is a link to a related website: http://themetapicture.com/albert-einstein-was-right-all-along/.
    I love you,
    Dad

    1. I think if we don’t monitor this behavior it gets worse and worse. If we are aware we can stay present and focused. I am glad you and Mom didn’t have smart phones when we were young! 🙂

Leave a Reply

