Sweet Spot

“God made me fast. And when I run, I feel His pleasure.” Eric Liddell

I have seen “Chariots of Fire” multiple times, especially as a kid. I have read about Eric Liddell’s life and seen this quote. It didn’t jump off the page at me until recently. The light bulb went on and I get it!

This blog is new, but I have written before. Writing wasn’t my dream as a kid, but I enjoyed it. I think only as it has become my ministry has that really changed. Every time I am about to write or edit, I pray. I want this to be where God speaks to me and through me. They aren’t my words, as someone recently pointed out that my speaking is different than my writing. I think my Eric Liddell phrase would be “When I write, I hear God speak.” My own words move me to tears sometimes, which is proof they aren’t really mine!

God gave us all a talent or two. When we use them to bring Him glory, we are in our sweet spot. Nothing compares to the feelings and blessings it brings when we are obedient to that call. Those with the gift of music can sing or play around the house, but should be using that gift for God as well. If they are good with money, helping someone get their finances in order would make God happy. Using carpentry or yard maintenance skills to bless a neighbor would bring God glory. Sometimes that burning desire to learn everything there is to know about a topic is a talent in disguise. That passion was put there by the King of Kings who desires for everyone to come to know Him. He uses our knowledge and skills to plant seeds in others and show them His love.

When I look back on the first few months of this blog, I see Jesus working on me. He is teaching me to rely on Him for ideas and words. He helps me make sense of things that are gut-wrenching. He makes me share things that are overly personal, even if it just helps one person. I may not understand many things, but as long as I let Jesus breathe life into the page, I believe I am on the right path. He gave me a gift with words, and it is up to me to give that gift back to Him! Once I gave this space to God for Him to use, He showed up and took over. Nothing has ever felt this satisfying, and that is how it is planned. God knows that once we find our sweet spot, we won’t want to turn back from it. We will want to fight the distractions and challenges, which are the flaming arrows of Satan himself. We want to feel connected and to know our lives make a difference. We matter, and we can be used in big ways.

I am praying for everyone reading this: may you find your sweet spot if you haven’t already. If you aren’t sure, keep searching until you are. Your life will never be the same again!

 

Thank you Holley Gerth for allowing me to keep linking to your Coffee For Your Heart blog!

 

4 thoughts on “Sweet Spot

  1. Beautiful words! I’ve just been getting started writing, too, and it’s been so awesome to see how God is already working in me and through me. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

