From a Recovering Worryer

Last year my friend told me a quote her Daddy used to say: 90% of the things you worry about never happen. Wow. That has blown me away! You see, I am a recovering worryer. Worries no longer paralyze me, but I don’t think I will ever be immune to them.

There is still too much worry in my house as my 8 year old seems to be a bigger worryer than I remember being at her age. She worries about getting in trouble and even about college. Don’t get me started on her Sunday night anxiety over what could happen that week. My heart aches that I can’t break those chains for her, but it is something she will need to learn. I pray with her and talk about these things with her. Together we are working on trusting God.

The Bible has much to say on our tendency to worry.  Matthew 6:34 points out that each day has enough trouble of it’s own. (Can I get an Amen to that?)  Why should we think about what COULD happen and not about what IS happening?  That same passage in Matthew reminds us we can’t add a single hour to our life by worrying, that it has no value. Over and over again God points out that He will be with us always and knows the plan for our lives. Hmm it’s like He knew we would need this repeated until we finally get it! One verse my daughter memorized was Psalm 56:3. “When I am afraid, I will trust in You.” It helps her stay focused on God as the solution instead of the situation in front of her.

Once I realized that quote about 90% is true, it really changed my outlook. Many times when you think of the worst that can happen, it really isn’t that bad. When you look at it from that angle and put words to what you are thinking about, you see there is really nothing to worry about. That worst case scenario is an extreme, but we serve a God who deals in extremes! He loves extremes because they give Him a chance to work. Even those dark, scary times where the worst does seem to happen have a purpose. He knows when we finally realize we have no control is usually when we give up and start completely relying on His power. Too often it takes monumental problems for us to stop going it alone. Instead we should be giving it to God.

Breathe out fear. Breathe in God’s peace.

Breathe out timidity. Breathe in God’s strength.

Breathe out our view of what life should be. Breathe in God’s plan for our life.

Let go. Grab on to God and lean in on His promises. He won’t let us down.

2 thoughts on “From a Recovering Worryer

  1. Absolutely amen! Fear and anxiety so easily swims in our family gene pool. I have to work hard and trust deep not to go there when unsettling, scary things assail.

    What a great post this is, Sarah! Thank you for speaking to me today

Leave a Reply

