All The Way

The more often I surrender to Christ, the more peace I have in my heart. To me, that is simple and profound at the same time. Once I started faithfully obeying what God asked of me, I started seeing how much better things were working out. Is it easy? Not usually. It has definitely been worth it though! Jeremiah 7:23 says “walk in obedience to all I command you, that it may go well with you.” When God asks me to do something, there is always a reason behind it. He is never arbitrary and nothing is done on a whim. I can count on God to have my best interest at heart.

God calls me to scary tasks that make me feel inadequate, until I realize I AM inadequate. I can’t prepare enough. I just have to grab His hand and do it. I am learning to listen to the voice telling me to be a hospice volunteer, pray in front of people, and write personal blog posts. In the end it is in God’s hands. If I am obedient, He takes care of it. I do my best and leave it all on the field. When I feel squeezed and challenged, it means I am relying on God’s strength. I have to take that step and run with the ball. Will I score every time? Nope. Sometimes God hands someone else the ball to do their part. Maybe I introduce someone to God’s love. Another person takes it further with their encouraging words or thoughtful actions. That person takes it in for a touchdown and wins a soul for Christ. All of us on the team are obedient and God uses all of it for His glory.

I can’t afford to question whether I could have done more or done things differently. I know without a doubt that when I listen and obey, God works all things out. I do my part and let God take over. When I question or try to stall, someone is not being blessed. Can I have that on my conscience? If I question why I should do this, I am making it all about me. In truth, it isn’t about me at all. If I believe I am here to make a difference, be a blessing, and help people change, I have to go all in. There is no room for questioning. I do my part and leave the rest in God’s more than capable hands.

Really, this is the most freeing thing. I am here to serve God and make Him happy. If someone doesn’t agree with me, it’s on them. They will answer for their thoughts and actions, as will I. The outcome is not for me to worry about. If I say something that God placed on my heart or bring a friend to church, and they don’t respond, it isn’t my responsibility. I have fulfilled my part and pleased God. That is the beauty of obedience. Following God implicitly simplifies life and reduces those “what ifs.” I can live a full life with peace in my heart because I give it all I’ve got and then give it to God.

“Trust and obey,

For there’s no other way

To be happy in Jesus,

But to trust and obey.”

10 thoughts on “All The Way

  1. It sure is freeing when we give it all we’ve got and then give it to God. Saves a lot of time and fretting when as you say we don’t get caught up in the “what-ifs” or mulling over what we could have done more or differently. Thank you for reminding us about our call to obedience and that God has outcomes covered.

  2. Sarah,
    You are certainly on the right path since the Bible says “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”
    I am proud of you and praying that you will always keep following the Lord with your whole heart.
    I love you,
    Dad

  3. Sarah,
    I could not agree more! Sometimes God’s path is scary and very winding, but we can trust that if He called us to it, He will see us through it. I love that God is faithful to provide strength when He calls us out into the great unknown!

  4. I love how your posts encourage us to get the “me” out of our systems. And “Trust and Obey” is one of my favorite hymns. Thanks for sharing humbly stuff we all need to remember!

Leave a Reply

