Lie Buster

Maybe this only happens to me, but I doubt it. Somehow I feel most lonely when I am not alone. I can be in a crowd of people or at home with my girls and feel alone. These thoughts creep up on me and suddenly I am convinced that no one sees me. A lie like this can only come from one source-Satan. He knows how important people are to me and tries to use it against me.

Just last week I was in a mood and decided to turn to my Lie Buster, my Bible. (If only I did that every time!) I read in Genesis 3 where Satan first deceived man. He convinced Adam and Eve that God was against them and wasn’t looking out for their best interest. You know, like HE was. He acted like he was their friend. Satan uses whatever he knows will get to us, as he is the father of lies, according to John 8:44. From the beginning of time, Satan has been honing his skills, picking people off one by one. I can hear his maniacal laughter when he succeeds.

The best thing we can do is turn to God’s Word and prayer when Satan attacks. We need a dose of truth to counteract the poison of lies. When I think to go straight to God, I am always much better off. Once when my girls were smaller, therefore my world was smaller, it felt like I was never going to get out of the house. I felt so small and insignificant and cried out to God. I took a break from making dinner and opened my Bible. It opened to Song of Solomon. It was then God spoke to my soul about His love for me as His bride. He sees me and knows every seemingly small problem and sadness. He doesn’t ever want me to feel alone, unimportant or uncherished. To God, I am everything. I bring Him endless joy, just by being me. He wants me to know that through everything, He is right beside me. My life may seem out of control, but He is the calm in my storm. When I feel sad, He is there to dry my tears. If I go to Him, He delights in showing me His affection.

The next time you need a lie busted, go to the source of life and truth: God’s Word. God has a message of comfort that can only come from Someone who knows everything about you and still loves you more than anyone. He knows exactly what you need to hear and longs to share it with you.

 

I am linking up with Holley Gerth and her Coffee for Your Heart!

12 thoughts on “Lie Buster

  1. YES! I’m so glad to know that I am not the only one who can feel alone in a crowd or doubt my significance. I’m so glad God loves me and cherishes me exactly as I am. Loved the term “lie buster”, too!

  2. Sarah, your post is so timely! These alone times are so difficult at times, and they sneak up on us when we don’t expect them, with lies in tow. I too love the picture in Song of Solomon of us as the bride of Christ. Love the term “lie buster!”

  3. I can sometimes feel more alone in a crowd than by myself. I thought I was an odd one, but I guess I’m not. πŸ™‚ I love how you call the Bible the Lie-Buster. Satan and his lies can be so real, and he knows our vulnerable spots so well. Thank you so much for your encouraging post, Sarah. This especially comforts me – “He sees me and knows every seemingly small problem and sadness. He doesn’t ever want me to feel alone, unimportant or uncherished. To God, I am everything. I bring Him endless joy, just by being me.” So beautiful.

Leave a Reply

