The Me I Want To Be

I know who I want to be when I grow up: a woman whose words have weight. The kind who has learned much and thinks about what she says. I want to screen myself and only say things that will lift others up. Words that are designed to encourage. I want to continually believe in others’ abilities. When I open my mouth, I want the young girls to lean over and get every word because they know the words are wise. I want to inspire people to love God and people around them. I want joy to ooze out of me and my smile to be contagious. I want to listen much more than I speak. I want anger and bitterness to always be pushed out by forgiveness. I want to look at someone and not judge them, but to see them the way God does: as someone with a purpose. I want to fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow because there were no regrets or missed opportunities in my day.

This sounds lofty, but I know it is achievable. I have known women like this who inspire me. So how do I do it? I start living like this now. I speak less and more kindly NOW. I show love to others NOW. I speak and act wisely NOW. I live in joyful expectation NOW. Maybe I swallow those hurtful words one day instead of spewing. Maybe I realize that person didn’t mean to hurt my feelings and let go of my right to anger. Or I see a need and quietly fill it. I act with intention instead of flying by the seat of my pants. None of this is once and done, but a lifelong process. I will make mistakes, but each mistake should teach me and bring me a step closer to who I am made to be. Each day is added on to the ones before to build a lifetime. My goal is to get closer every day to the version of Sarah who has filled all of her potential.

Proverbs 31:26 She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

8 thoughts on “The Me I Want To Be

  1. Wow! It’s like you glimpsed into my thoughts today and read exactly what I was thinking. I too, want to strive for these things and not “fly by the seat of my pants”, which I do ALL THE TIME! Today I am praying through what this looks like in my life and the practical steps I can take to make that happen.

    1. It really does require thinking about what we want our life to look like, being aware of how we can improve. You put the “not judging” part in my head the other day! πŸ™‚

  2. Great words, great post, Sarah! It’s begins with today, doesn’t it? Then walking out each day in the life we desire to honor God with, as we allow Him to work in and through us. Wonderful words of hope! So glad our paths crossed!

  3. My heart cries “yes!” to all of this. Thank you for so beautifully putting into words what I desire my legacy to be. And for giving me the kick-in-the-pants to go live it today. πŸ™‚

    Much grace to you as you allow Jesus to shape you into that woman today and everyday!

  4. Yes and amen, Sarah. Words can be a fountain of life OR a stream that destroys. I love the purposefulness of your writing, your choices, your life, friend. I’m always inspired when I visit this sacred space you’ve created.

Leave a Reply

