Sit Still

After a crazy day, being still was not an option. So much excitement for my little brain to process, it was all I could do to only think of 4 things at once while I played with my hair. I felt God asking me to be still so I tried. While I am writing this and thinking of sitting still, I pick at my nails and mess with my rings. And all of this is when I don’t have my phone or laptop to play on. Is there hope for me?

Jesus must have known how scattered our brains would become. He surely knew how easy it would be to become preoccupied 2000 years after He lived. He planned on us having hectic schedules to sort through. Just look at the Bible and how many times He tells us to be still. Jesus wants us to live life side by side with Him. He wants us to turn to Him when we have anything, good or bad, to say. He knew we would need reassurance that He sees us and is working.

Psalm 37:7 “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.” How hard is it to do nothing when we want evil to quit prospering? We just keep waiting, and God says to let Him handle it in His own time.

Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” Stop trying so hard! When all is said and done, I will still be God.

Exodus 14:14 “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” I claim this verse when I know I need to step back and release my problem to God. If it isn’t working the way I am doing it, I need to let God take over.

Zechariah 2:13 “Be still before the Lord.” We are to show awe and wonder for God and all He has done.

God asks us to be still for different reasons. Sometimes He wants us to sit and listen to what He has to say. He may want to correct an attitude or action. Other times God want us to tap out so He can do what only He is capable of doing. Maybe He wants us to reconnect with Him so we have strength for what is coming. God wants us to know He loves us and to give us peace that can only come from Him. He longs for us to rest and praise Him.
When we hear God ask us to be still, we need to listen. Friends, there are many reasons to be still, and they are all for our benefit. And they all bring Him glory.

Linking with Holley Gerth today!

8 thoughts on “Sit Still

  1. Why’s it so hard for us to settle down, breathe deep, reflect well … I love how you’ve said that God knew all the time … and He’s gave us some hands-on words to invite our restless spirits to quiet down. He’s inviting us to go deeper, but for some reason we can’t easily say ‘yes’ to this invitation.

    Super post, friend!

  2. Sitting still is a huge struggle of mine as I am always racing, always planning, always doing. The four reminders of why God may have us sit still hit home with me and I need to put it into practice on a daily basis. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

