Seek God

1 Chronicles 16:11 Seek the LORD and His strength; Seek His face continually.

I have this verse on a note card on my kitchen window sill. I see it every day, but it has been on my mind more lately. If there was only one thing I could teach my children it is this: seek God. If they will seek God, run after Him with their whole heart, everything will fall into place. Seeking God first shows Him that we honor Him by putting Him before all else. When they are tall enough to wash dishes, my girls will see this verse for themselves. For now, it is up to me to teach them. They need to see me living it out. I have written about who I want to be, and what I want my girls to learn. It all comes back to this simple phrase: seek God.

I pray this weekend you will remember to seek God in whatever you do. When you need to make a big decision, seek God’s wisdom. When the future appears out of focus, seek His face. When you come to the end of your strength, seek His. He is always enough.

 

 

Today I am linking to the kickoff of Faith Along the Way’s Saturday morning blog party! Come with me!

12 thoughts on “Seek God

  1. I want my kids to seek God as well. I did not grow up going to church and have not found one yet that I love. It has been a while since I went and in our busy lives it is hard to find a new one to start going to again. This is something that I will have to do soon. In the mean time I am going to try and do better in reading the kids bible books. They are only 3 and 1 so they have some ones for really little kids. I also am believe that they will learn form me so I need to start seeking God more often. Thanks for the reminder of what is important to me.

  2. I was reminded of these very hopeful verses:

    “You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart. ‘I will be found by you,’ declares the LORD…” (Jeremiah 29:13-14, NASB)

    Seeking means so much more to me than just sorta *looking around* – it means an intentional heart choice to search out God, and then follow Him in obedience.

    Life has been difficult these last few months, but in it all I have sought His face – and He has blessed me with His constant Presence!

    GOD BLESS!

  3. So simple and yet often, this is the very thing which gets pushed out of our busy lives. May we remember to seek Him – every day and first. Thank you for this reminder today. Blessings!

    1. It is funny how that happens. We forget and leave God sitting there waiting for us to remember Him. He deserves to be first, and we need to hold each other accountable.

  4. Sarah,

    Thank you for sharing this at fatihalongtheway.com @ the Saturday Soiree Blog Party Launch! You always know exactly what I need to hear and this was another reminder to rely fully on God and not my strength! Why do I take control back so easily? I hope you will link-up again next week!

Leave a Reply

