Prayer for the Lost

When I pray for people in my life who do not know Jesus, whether a family member or acquaintance, certain things come to mind. 

I thank God that He loves us no matter what, that He leaves the 99 in search of the one.

2 Peter 3:9 The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.

I pray they see Jesus in me.

Matthew 5:16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

I pray for the people they surround themselves with.

Proverbs 12:26 The righteous is a guide to his neighbor, but the way of the wicked leads them astray.

I pray they have good examples of Christ’s love around them.

Galatians 5:22-23 The fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. 

I pray someone will show them the way.

Colossians 3:16 Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts.

I pray their heart will not be hardened.

Romans 2:5 But because of your stubbornness and your unrepentant heart, you are storing up wrath against yourself for the day of God’s wrath, when His righteous judgment will be revealed.

I pray that something will happen to turn them to Jesus.

Job 42:2 I know that You can do anything, and no one can stop You.

Luke 18:27 Jesus replied, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.”

I pray for the impact their story will have on others.

Philippians 1:6 He who began a good work in your will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

I remember that Jesus hears and honors my prayers.

Proverbs 15:29 The Lord is far from the wicked, but He hears the prayer of the righteous.

Sometimes I really don’t know what to say, and that is OK. God understands my heart, and He knows the person I am praying for. After all, He created them. 

It will work out if I trust and keep praying.

 

today I am linking up to my friend (who has a great first name!) at Faith Along the Way.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Prayer for the Lost

  1. There’s power in praying Scripture. And power in praying for the salvation of those who need Christ.

    Holy Spirit, come down and do your convicting work in all your power. Amen

  2. This hits home to me! I have many family member and friends I have prayed for since coming to Christ over 22 years ago. I love this list and think I should print it out to pray by! Thanks for joining the Saturday Soiree Blog Party!

    1. I am thrilled you are getting use out of this! Sometimes it is difficult to pray for the same people every day. I find it helpful to pray different things so I stay focused.
      See you next Saturday! 😉

Leave a Reply

