Waiting Out the Storms

image 

My family just got back from a week at the beach. During that time, we had many opportunities to wait out rain. (Yeah, yeah, I can feel your hearts breaking for me.) There was gentle rain that passed. There were dark clouds we could see coming, not knowing if they would go over us or bring bad storms. We had a sudden gust of wind that destroyed our tent, despite the valiant efforts of my brother in law. Sand hit us so hard it hurt. We got to watch an amazing lightning show from the safety of our condo. It was easier to handle when it was far off! Some storms lasted hours and one day we stayed out there in the rain. You know what happened each time?

 image

Yep, the sun rose the next morning. There was more debris after the big storms, but the sun was constant. Some mornings it was obscured by clouds. It either burned through them or we prepared for the next round. But no matter what happened, the next day came.

In life there is something more constant than the sun-the Creator of it. The sun will eventually burn out, but God will still be there. He loves us with an everlasting love. He hates when we scurry around preparing for what might happen and forget He is in control. God will fill us with peace if we let Him.

Last year at times I felt I was in this mode. As soon as one crisis was over, the next one began. It was only at the end that I was able to look back and see how much stronger I am now. For the first time I had realized I couldn’t do anything myself and needed to rely on God. From the beginning of events I felt a peace that I had really never felt. Yes, my car was smashed by a texting girl, but we were safe. I can’t help it if someone else hits me. Then there was the pain that led to my first mammogram and biopsies. That was out of my hands, and if there was something wrong we would deal with it. A few weeks later we found out my cousin has stage IV breast cancer. That really shook me. She handled it so well that I was reminded of the strength God gives us when we need it. The next storm was finding out both of my girls were struggling in school for the first time. We did what we could and prayed a lot.

A storm started at the end of last year, and it still hits me now. My heart breaks, but once again I have no control over other people. There are days I still just cling to God and the hope He promises. I need the reminder of Matthew 8, when Jesus called out the disciples. They were afraid of the storm they were in. Before He calmed it, Jesus called them “you of little faith.” That makes me feel better that the guys with Jesus saw Him perform miracles yet still doubted His power!

Are you in a storm right now? Are you feeling battered by wave after wave that seem never ending? Are you holding on but feeling the pull of giving up on God? 

Remember Proverbs 3:5-6:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart

And lean not on your own understanding;

In all your ways acknowledge Him

And He will make your paths straight.

God has a purpose for every breath you take. He has you on a journey with many twists and turns. Storms will come up, and that means He wants you to pull up closer to Him. He will hold you and guide you. God promises that if you trust Him with everything you have, even when you don’t understand, He will get you through it. If you will wait out the storms of life, God will give you a comfort and peace that no one else can.

Just keep trusting God and He will bring you to the sunshine.

 

 

I am linking with Holley Gerth and her Coffee for your Heart.

16 thoughts on “Waiting Out the Storms

  1. I feel my life has been that way for the past 10 years! But as you mentioned, the sun rises with the hope of the Lord each morning as He gives us the strength to hold on to Him and weather any storm that comes our way. Inspiring, as always!!!

  2. I’m in a storm, too. simply trusting. I have no choice … we soon realize that we have no control over what is going on around us. we only can control our response. and my response is to trust Him.

  3. Sarah, beautiful images and analogies…so visual…I love that scripture, “He loves us with an everlasting love”…how we cling to that in our storms…thank you for stopping by my post at Holley’s place today!

  4. Such an encouraging post! It’s so dark as we go through storms that we can’t always make sense out of them, but in hindsight, the truth is we do learn the deepest lessons in the greatest storms. As you say “God has a purpose for every breath you take.” Thank you for this beautiful reminder, Sarah.

  5. Sarah, I can so identify with beach storms because of where I live, and the sunrise after such storms is so spectacular, even in light of the debris! This was comforting to someone who has been in one storm after another for the past two years, and you are right….we do come out stronger. My favorite Jeremiah scripture-“I have loved you with an everlasting love and I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” This is coffee for my heart! Prayers of thanksgiving for what you have been through and prayers for grace and strength as you continue through your current storm.

    1. If I could live near a beach, I would be so happy! 🙂 Even stormy days at the beach are better than anything at home.
      Thank you for your comment and prayers!

Leave a Reply

