Lessons From My Daughter

Earlier this week my family watched Heaven Is For Real. My 8 year old was transfixed by the story and started crying half way through. She said it was happy crying, but also that the little boy comforting a hospital patient touched her. My baby has always had a sensitive heart, but for the last few months, she has had homeless kids on her mind. She wants to help kids who don’t have what she has. During the movie, she told me, again, that she wants to help kids. Sick kids. Homeless kids. Kids in slavery. Her heart was literally breaking.

It hit me. My little girl has such a strong passion and is not pushing it away. She is not thinking she is too young. She is trying to figure out what she can do. She is letting her emotions push her, not running from them. I could not be more proud of her!

I want to be like my child. God put passion and dreams in me, just like in her. I don’t want to run and hide, thinking I am not enough. I don’t want to think I can’t do something because I am one person. I don’t want to say this is not the right time. I want to be ready and willing to step up whenever God calls me.

Last night she told me she thinks about being a princess (whew, she is still only 8!) If she was having a ball, she would invite the poor first because they don’t usually get to go. I read her James 2, which talks about that idea:

Suppose a man comes into your meeting wearing a gold ring and fine clothes, and a poor man in filthy old clothes also comes in.  If you show special attention to the man wearing fine clothes and say, “Here’s a good seat for you,” but say to the poor man, “You stand there” or “Sit on the floor by my feet,”  have you not discriminated among yourselves and become judges with evil thoughts? Listen, my dear brothers and sisters: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him?”

What a lesson in treating people fairly, especially the disadvantaged. Our human brains want to look good and only be around those like us. God says that is wrong and we are to show extra kindness to the least of these. We need to fix our backward thinking and bless those in need before thinking of the people who have what we have.

In my post This Mother’s Prayer, I said “I pray the world’s sadness will push you, not break you.” At the time, I did not think this would come up so soon. I thought I had more time to prepare my children for what they would see in the world. There is definitely a part of me that wants to keep shielding her and her sister, but this is something she has to start now. She needs to see that no amount of effort is too small. She needs to learn to help those in need as soon as possible.

Only God knows what my daughter’s future holds, but I know this: He will use all of her experiences to further His kingdom. I think it is amazing that she gets to start at 8. I can’t wait to see where life takes her. Maybe she will be a missionary. Maybe she will teach. Maybe she will be a mom. Maybe she will be a pop star like she wanted earlier this year. Whatever she does, she will put her heart in it.

I want my life to be what I see in my child: I want to put myself out there to help those who need me. I want to hear the call and not answer with excuses, but with YES. I want to do what God wants me to with reckless abandon.

 

 

I am linking to Faith Along the Way for the Saturday Soiree Blog Party! Join us!

12 thoughts on “Lessons From My Daughter

  1. I love what God is doing deep inside her little heart. This here, this now, is where the seeds are planted, nurtured, beginning to bloom wide.

    Her mama’s daughter, for sure …

    Sweet weekend blessings to you both!

    ;-}

  2. What a beautiful heart she has at 8 years old!!! It’s amazing how God will use the littles to motivate the older generations. She has convicted me! When’s the last time I was broken for the “least of these”? It’s been awhile….

    1. Yes Sarah, she is definitely convicting me. I think us adults get so used to seeing those in need that we stop really seeing them. It must hurt God. But we can do better!

  3. I wish we could always see the world through the eyes of a child. Here I am concerned at 32 about whether I can accomplish my goals to help others and it never crosses her mind that she might not be able to.

      1. Amen. I am letting myself get stressed out right now about my Haiti mission as though God won’t remove any obstacles in my path if He wants me to do something. Humbled by an 8 year old.

  4. What an amazing heart our Heavenly Father placed in your daughter. There are so many things an 8-year-old can do right now. I love that you want to cultivate it. One activity I heard a child do is make pillowcases for foster children. Child services gave them to a child when taking them from a home or moving them Something of their very own. There was a book or stuffed animal tucked inside. I think she had a lot of helpers buying stuffed animals, giving material and even helping make the pillowcases. I’ll be praying your daughter finds exactly what God wants for her. And that He continues to give you wisdom in guiding her.

Leave a Reply

