He Chooses YOU!

When something sounds scary, but I do it anyways, two things happen. God gives me a bigger challenge the next time, and when He does, I can accept it easier. If I can look back and remember how He took care of me, I know He will do it again.

Over the last 2 years, God has asked me to do things that are way out of my comfort zone. I can honestly say that hospice, prayer groups, and now writing a book are things that I never saw myself doing. They certainly strain me! I have been blessed in so many ways, but I would have missed out if I hadn’t said “yes.”

God doesn’t need me for these tasks and could have picked someone else. He picked me. He knew my experience with Mom and hospice would enable me to understand what families are going through. My compassion for people drives me to help the best way I can. He gave me experience and the personality to comfort people when they need it most. Shouldn’t I honor Him by giving back?

God picked me to help start a prayer group at church, and it isn’t as a prayer expert. I think He saw my willingness and allowed me to be a part of something great. Some people are very spiritual and don’t stumble through prayer. But if everyone at our meetings was like that, it might scare off someone new. My uncomfortableness (it’s a word) in praying out loud is a weakness that I choose to let God use. When He pours words into me that aren’t mine, it is both amazing and humbling. I love to look back at how far I have come and how many people we have had the privilege to pray for in a year.

My new task that I am starting today feels like a whole new level. I have always had to trust God, but this is truly going to be minute by minute, word by word. I don’t even know what this book will end up being about. There are ideas floating around in my head, but it is up to God. He has been preparing me for this and stretching my faith so that I will keep allowing Him to flow through me. If God had put the idea in me to write a book a few years ago, I would not have been ready. At this point, I have learned that on my own, I can’t do anything. Through God’s power and Spirit, I can do anything He asks. When I do, I get all the blessings He has for me, and He gets the glory.

Join me on this next adventurous year as I step out in faith. As you do, I will be praying for the adventures God puts in front of you. Prayers for you to say “YES” and feel the rush of the wind in your hair and the joy that only God can give!

 

Last year, I wrote “Family Night In” as a way to help my church knock out our debt. Each of the 26 weeks has a verse, a paragraph about it, a dessert, and an activity. The price is $5 if you would like it emailed to you, $8 if you want it printed, and $10 if you need it mailed. $5 from each copy goes in our name to the NorthStar Church Bold campaign. If you are interested, email me at sarahgirl3@mail.com.  Thank you for helping to support an amazing church and community!

 

 

Linking to Holley Gerth

24 thoughts on “He Chooses YOU!

  1. You go, girl! I love those verses in the OT where God asks Moses to speak and he has a list of reasons as long as his arm why he can’t or won’t obey. I love that you’re putting your questions in God’s hands, wading in deep, trust leading the way. I’m praying for you!

  2. Sarah, Even when you were a young girl, your mother and I knew that you would be used by God. We had no idea then what that would be, but now we are seeing that purpose unfold. Your blogs have been an encouragement and blessing to me and the book will be used by God because that is His purpose for you. I think it is interesting that God gave me His ultimate purpose and calling for my life when I was your age. In my case, the calling had to lie dormant for thirty years, but all during those years he was preparing me for what I am doing now. I can assure you that He is faithful to complete you and your purpose.
    I love you, Dad

    1. Dad I love you and your unwavering support to me! Your comment makes me cry, and I am so grateful that I have been blessed with parents who modeled Christ in my life.
      Yes, God is faithful to complete what He starts!

  3. Yeah, I can agree with this. I am very uncomfortable with this upcoming Haiti trip both from the fundraising aspect (asking people for money is suuuuuuper uncomfortable) and the trip itself since no one I know personally is going. Part of me wants to panic and say it’s too hard but I know this is the direction I should be going in and that God will pave this road if I am willing to walk down it. I just hope it’s ok that I’m fumbling along with my eyes squeezed shut.

    1. I think the uncomfortable journeys end up being the best, because our faith is rewarded. Your trip is going to be amazing and eye opening and I can’t wait to hear about it.
      Yes, I recommend squeezing your eyes shut until the trip! 🙂

  4. I love that God uses these jars of clay to shine through and touch the world. Thank you for your great example of saying “yes” to Him no matter what & for sharing that with us here. I appreciate the encouragement. I’m visiting from Coffee for Your Heart. Blessings!

  5. I struggle with praying out loud too. Your post makes me feel better about it. I can pray alone silently just fine, but there’s something about praying out loud with others that is hard for me. I like how you said that if we were all great at it, it might scare off others who struggle.

  6. Thank you for this beautiful inspiration, Sarah. I love the thought that God even uses our “uncomfortableness.” Praying God will give you light and wisdom in writing a book!

    1. Every day I am convinced more and more that God uses our weaknesses and uncomfortableness so we can make sure not to take the glory. And to show us we can trust Him. 🙂
      Thanks for the prayers!

  7. Oh I love that you are starting on a new venture writing a book. It’ll be awesome to watch how God gives you the words. When my husband was going through a stem cell transplant to treat his cancer and things got hard my friend asked me to get a rock. She told me to set it someplace where I could see it and just like Samuel did in 1 Samuel 7:12 remind myself, “Thus far the Lord has been faithful.” I know he will show himself faithful to you as you take this next big step.

  8. Sarah, thanks so much for stopping by from Holley’s place and leaving a comment on my blog…I LOVE your writing and your comments 🙂 Praying for you as you continue to say, “Yes!”” to what God has for you and the book that He is knitting together in you! When you mentioned your experiences with your Mom and hospice, I thought you might like to read my post regarding my Mom in palliative care…many blessings to you and your sweet family…
    http://bethwillismiller.blogspot.com/2011/03/comfort-measures-only.html

  9. Love this!!! 2013 was way out of my comfort zone (cancer) but has led to some great opportunities – growth in me, sweet dependence on God, and encouraging others. It led to starting my blog and a card/prayer ministry. I never would have done anything like that before… “The Lord gives STRENGTH to His people; the Lord blesses His people with PEACE” – Psalm 29:11.

Leave a Reply

