Icy Hand of Fear

The hand of fear drips icy water down my back. It slides, making me more uncomfortable the further down it gets. My heart races as it seeks to make me cold. The longer I let it go on, the closer it gets to succeeding at making me numb.

image

I have to get a towel and dry my back. I have to grab my Bible and warm my heart again. If I let Satan keep dripping fear into me, there may come a time my heart stops responding to warmth. Giving Satan free reign of my mind will lead to not knowing truth from lies anymore. Cutting those thoughts off at the source, and turning my back on them, is the only way to fight.

I have admitted to being a recovering worryer, and Satan knows how to try to get to me. The last few weeks have had my mind turning to this Thursday, the anniversary of 9/11. With all that is going on, all the speculation, I can’t get away from all the theories. I even considered having the four of us stay home that day. That won’t solve anything though.

Fear is Satan telling me I can’t trust God. When I grab hold of that idea, I am letting go of God. When I give in to the icy grip of fear, it isn’t long until I am desensitized. Fear quickly takes over and sets up shop. Just like melting ice saturates whatever surface it is on, fear soaks into my mind.

What can I do when fear grabs me? I must send it packing with these truths.

I will not fear, for You are with me. (Isaiah 41:10)

I will not be anxious about anything, but I will pray about everything. (Philippians 4:6)

When I am afraid, I will trust in You. (Psalm 56:3)

I will cast all my anxiety on You, because You care for me. (1 Peter 5:7)

I will be strong and courageous. I will not be frightened, for You are with me wherever I go. (Joshua 1:9)

Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for You are with me. (Psalm 23:4)

I will not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:34)

You are my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? (Psalm 27:1)

I will not fear, for You redeemed me; You called me by name, and I am Yours. (Isaiah 43:1)

Fill me with Your joy and peace, so Your hope will abound in me. (Romans 15:13)

These and other truths are in the Bible, and God longs for us to hear and believe them. He can pull us away from the icy touch of fear and into the warm embrace of His love. We just have to let Him.

 

 

I am linking with Holley Gerth and her Coffee for your Heart!

14 thoughts on “Icy Hand of Fear

  1. I am right there with you! We are never alone! This week and always I’m standing with you on every promise of God’s word! Words of power strong to save that will never pass away ❤

  2. Wonderful reminder. God’s Word refutes the enemies lies and warms us with courage and strength. Visiting from Holley’s. Many blessings to you!

  3. “Giving Satan free reign of my mind will lead to not knowing truth from lies anymore.” I had to tweet that! It is so true. The more we listen to Satan, believe his lies, the harder it is to see the Truth.

  4. Your style is very unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this web site.

Leave a Reply

