WWJB

Where would Jesus be?

This question won’t leave me. If Jesus were on earth right now, where would He go? The answer wouldn’t be my church, as awesome as it is. He wouldn’t be at yours either. Who would we find Him with? Not other Christians. He wouldn’t construct a Christian bubble and never venture outside of it.

Does this haunt you? It should.

I want to learn from Jesus when He told the pharisees, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” (Mark 2:17) Jesus had a core group of Christian friends, but He was always out in the world. He was gentle and kind, and He pointed people to God. He looked them in the eye and treated them with dignity instead of condemnation. Jesus did not join them in destructive activities, but He did not shy away from associating with them. He was judged for it, but He knew men judging Him meant nothing compared with pleasing His Father.

It isn’t that I am not around non believers. I am. But I don’t choose to hang out with them as often as I should. I don’t try to share my faith with them, at least not more than once. I don’t try to show them God’s love the way I am called.

I tend to feel more comfortable around people older than me, not moms my age or people who need someone to guide them. I like the wisdom I obtain, but I forget that someone needs wisdom from me. Even when I don’t think I have much wisdom, I can offer them what they need. I can be a friend. Not just smile and small talk, but I can find out what is going on in their lives. I can show them the peace and joy that God puts in my heart.

This is a challenge to me and anyone willing: think about where Jesus would be and who He would be with. Go there. Really see them. Be a friend.

Linking with the Saturday Soiree!

8 thoughts on “WWJB

  1. I think this may be one of the most challenging parts of our faith for me – and one I’m not very good at. You’re right, though, Jesus wouldn’t be hanging around in the places where most of us are – not in the comfy suburbs, the bustling churches.

  2. Oh, yes, – Jesus called on us to love those who don’t know Him – really, really know Him – and introduce Him. I think being the mother of a prodigal returning home broke open my heart to this truth – because so many “Christians” in their bubble didn’t want to reach out to a sinner. They need to see God’s love in us – not a bludgeoning God but a loving God! Trying to teach my boys still in school how to love those “outside” the bubble and pull them in to God’s house!

    1. Yes, I need to show my girls how to do this while they are young, and not just tell them to.
      Sometimes it takes something big in our lives to show us how we should be. I am so glad your prodigal came back! It gives me hope for the ones I know.

  3. Oh so thought provoking. I remember one day when I decided I needed a mentor so I went to church seeking out an “older woman” in the church to mentor me and realized I was now one of the older women. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

