The Unknown: Dun Dun Dun!

Unknown.

But only to me. God knows everything and has every detail planned out. Do I still have fear? Absolutely. I am always trying to get through one situation, because then I can relax. But guess what? There is always going to be something else coming up. That is life. As soon as something is known, another unknown arrives to take its place.

image

We just fixed up our house and put it on the market. (Yes, I am exhausted and ran out of Magic Erasers. Bless whoever invented those!) Now we wait and pray we get an offer soon.

We have an inspection and appraisal.

We find a house to buy.

We close on both houses.

We pack and then unpack.

We make new friends.

There is enough unknown right now to make this mama anxious. I am learning it is OK to admit that. But I have to do something with that worry.

Even a good change, like moving, causes stress. It means I must rely on God. I know that God’s plan for my life trumps any fear I may have. His design for me is greater than anything I would dream up. Or settle for.

I feel called to be around other moms more. I have resisted because it is not what I prefer. In general I am more comfortable around people older than me. And seriously, me, mentor? But I am past thinking I have nothing to offer. If God wants me to walk alongside moms, especially moms who are different than me, who am I to argue? He will equip me. He has been working on me, stretching my faith, and molding my will. He has made me want what He wants, not what I want. Our family hasn’t felt the need to move until this fall. Now I know God has used the time to prepare us for a new situation. He has also been preparing our new house and neighbors. God really does work all the details of our lives out. Our pieces of the puzzle fit with the pieces someone else has. We just don’t know it until the right time.

When I think about what God is going to do through my family, some of the anxiety melts away. If I get to be part of a greater plan, there is no bigger honor. I think that is what usually gets me with the unknown. I don’t look at it the way God does. I see change as a threat, instead of an opportunity. I need to realize that God wants to use me.

Telling God I am worried does mean I am weak and need His strength. That is true whether I admit it or not. But bringing it out and not being ashamed of it is how I work through it. Matthew 6:34 says “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” When I ask for the strength and wisdom for today, God will give it to me. I don’t have to be afraid of the future.

Let the adventure begin.

 

 

Linking with the Saturday Soiree at Faith Along the Way.

14 thoughts on “The Unknown: Dun Dun Dun!

  1. I love a good Magic Eraser, Sarah!

    And you, lovely lady, have what it takes to mentor. Never doubt it.

    Praying for the perfect place for you. Beyond what you’re asking or imagining.

    … complete with a yard!

  2. Change is tough, but it is where we learn, stretch, and grow. I completely understand your feelings. Moving is so difficult and exciting at the same time. Good luck with everything! It will all work out as it should :). Blessings!

  3. Hi Sarah πŸ™‚
    Thank you for sharing your heart and journey with us. I can relate to feeling more comfortable with older people… Change is definitely tough. So thankful we have our unchanging God to hold onto. I hope and pray the move goes smoothly.
    God bless

  4. Moving is so stressful and it’s easy to worry about how it will all turn out. An exciting change, but it does require a lot of work. I can’t wait to hear how God works out the details in your situation!

  5. I love that He goes before us, preparing the way. Yet He is also our rearguard, protecting from behind where we cannot see. Praying peace over your next adventure!

  6. Sarah,
    I love how you are trusting God to equip you where He has led you…just like He was in the details of your move…He will be with you as you mentor or whatever else…and you’re right, we can share our worries with God because that is how we give them to Him (Phil. 4:6-8)….blessings πŸ™‚

  7. Hi Sarah, my husband and I have moved a lot since marriage so I know how you feel. It can be tough, but those are some of the moments when my faith has grown the most. God’s got this! He is going to use you in new ways. Keep pressing on, friend.

Leave a Reply

