Filled with What?

Earlier this week I thought about how we are to be filled with what is good. Specifically, we are to put good things in our mind. Our brains are so susceptible to corruption and easily convinced that sin is OK. In this world we are bombarded with evil, so we must stay away from it. I decided to only expose myself to good for a week. Once I calmed down from that idea, I went with a day.

Why didn’t I think of this before election day? Oh well, a day late and a dollar short. So I stayed away from most of the internet-including Facebook-for 24 hours. No TV since I can’t be sure what will be on any show. Books were limited too.

In general, I don’t frequent bad shows or websites or books, but are they useful for building others up? Nope. They are mostly entertaining fluff. Do they increase my faith? No, but they fill up my time. Do they make me a better person? Ummm probably not. TV shows let me see a fake crime being solved or laugh at witty people. Facebook tells me which friend is now pregnant, starting a new job, or what they ate for dinner. Oh and we can’t leave out the funny memes! Books keep my mind engaged. I love them, but they aren’t always edifying.

Skipping all this gave me extra time, and I went to bed early. I missed time with my husband, you know, where we watch TV together without conversation.  I had extra time with my Bible. It was difficult, which tells me this was necessary. When I let these things dictate my happiness, something is wrong.

The next morning I didn’t race to these outlets. Facebook was not quite as appealing as normal. Maybe it helped straighten my priorities? Maybe time away loosened the grasp these areas had on me?  It certainly pointed to the fact that I need better media in my life or different activities. My usual may not pull me away from Christ, but it distracts me.

God calls me to think about whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, and whatever is admirable, according to Philippians 4:8. It makes it much easier to take my thoughts captive if I am putting the right things in. I want God to do new things in and through me, but how can He use me if I am full of junk?

All of this is not to say I will stay away from all of the world. I should definitely be discriminating in what I put in my mind, and I think intentionally taking time away from these things on a regular basis is a good start. If I want to stay on track, I need to be in the world and not of the world.

So my question is: this weekend, what are YOU doing to renew your mind?

 

 

 

Linking with the Saturday Soiree.

18 thoughts on “Filled with What?

  1. Oh, that sounds like a great idea – a day unplugged from social media, email, tv, etc! If I could take that even further and just have quiet for a day, that would be even better… I have been trying to start the day with prayer, scripture and writing – before I look at email or Facebook – but it’s hard some days. those just suck you in, but aren’t as soul-fulfilling as time with God.

    1. I think I just go to them now without even thinking about it. Social media has permeated our culture so we have to make sure to guard our hearts from their effects.
      It is always a good idea to start the day with God!

  2. What a good idea… and thoughtful post. I need my time with the Lord each day, or many times a day, to weed out the junk that infiltrate from the world. I also fine it helps much to be deliberately thankful… Thank you for sharing this. 🙂

  3. I could use this reminder daily. Thank you for it today. This reminds me we are to “be in the world, but not of the world.” I’m renewing my mind today by spending time doing my Bible study and soaking up God’s Word. I have the house to myself, and that is a gift to me today. So glad I stopped over. God spoke to me through you!

    1. I think I need “focus on God” tattooed across my forehead as a daily reminder. 🙂
      Sounds like you had a lovely and refreshing weekend Julie! I am glad you stopped over too!

  4. Ouch. This is a convicting post, one that I need to read. I’d hate to add up all the time I waste on social media. Thanks for the reminder that it doesn’t have to be so! Blessings to you, Sarah.

    1. We don’t have to add it all up. That would be depressing for me.
      I think stepping away for short periods of time really helps to refocus us. Hope you had a great weekend Lisa!

  5. Stay away from toxic people, filter your news feed, read only the good stuff. Learn to distant yourself from drama and always fill your mind with positive ideas. These have been helping me start afresh. 🙂

    Great list you’ve got here.

      1. me tooo! I’m struggling now with motivating myself to get out of bed earlier so I can work out or read my bible or just not rush like a crazy mad woman to get to work on time…I know it’s necessary but gosh it’s hard… It’s like I’m in a fight with myself!

      2. In a fight with myself-I like how you put that.
        My nature is not as a morning person. I can function enough to do the basics. Maybe there is a time mid morning at work for you to take a break to read your Bible? Or evening? We always hear that morning is the only good time to read it, but I am an evening person, not morning or night. 🙂

  6. You’re confirming something I’ve been thinking about lately. I’ve felt a Holy Spirit nudge to refresh on the Sabbath by staying away from many of the things you mentioned. Your post is exactly what I needed. Thanks for this. I think you’re on to something important here. Blessings!!

Leave a Reply

