Intentional Spending: Christmas Edition

Hard to believe we are in month six of intentional spending and that it is Christmas time! The idea has definitely snowballed and has seeped into our minds and hearts. We can’t wait to see what God does in us and through us.

At the moment we are selling our house. When praying about accepting a lower offer, my husband James told God we want to be able to continue to give. It was touching to hear him say. Now that we are giving more, we can’t imagine going back to the way we used to be.

Back in October, our family discussed giving Christmas away. We decided to take the money I put aside each month for Christmas presents and spend it on another family. We don’t need more, and I assured the girls that Santa and other relatives will get them presents. I hate that I was surprised they wanted to do it! We really don’t give kids enough credit.

A few weeks later, our local Christian radio station had the nonprofit company, Food for the Poor, on all day. They said if we give $200, it feeds a family for a year and gives them water for life. Funny, that was the amount I had saved. We gave our donation, and it felt really good! The relief was huge for me. Focusing on other people who have needs definitely keeps me grounded and grateful for what I have.

As I mentioned earlier, we are selling our house. The girls found many toys they don’t play with and most were donated. A few we sold, and we used the money to grant a Christmas wish locally. This morning we went to Chick-Fil-A and looked at the wishes, again with our local radio station, 104.7 The Fish. We picked a single mom with 2 kids and are going to give them gifts. When I told the show hosts, Kevin and Taylor, where the money is coming from, they wanted to talk to me about it. Y’all I was on the radio! It was awesome to have a conversation with them.

 

image

I am beyond proud that my children are learning the value of helping other people and giving when the world says to spend the money on themselves. They are learning the joy of giving and I pray it will stick with them when they are grown.

Please know that if you start giving a little more at a time, it will get easier. I don’t care what your personality is or what your life is like: giving will change your perspective and make you a more caring person. And it is contagious. When you start, others will join in. People that you assumed would think you are crazy will come around or surprise you by being on board. Don’t let friends’ and family’s opinions deter you from being the generous person you were created to be.

Be a trendsetter and start today. Start by giving someone else a Merry Christmas and see how good that makes you feel. I promise, you will be hooked!

 

 

Linking with the Saturday Soiree at Faith Along the Way.

13 thoughts on “Intentional Spending: Christmas Edition

  1. This is awesome! We have, as a single income family on a tight budget, given when it makes no good sense. God comes through! And our children are indeed watching. Blessings!

  2. I love that you shared this post! I am pretty open on my blog about how much we enjoy giving and blessing others. Sometimes I worry that people might think I am tooting my own horn. I also worry about my left hand seeing what my right hand is doing, but you are right – it is contagious! I want to encourage others to do the same so that the little that I am able to give can be multiplied for His kingdom. Thanks for the post. I love your heart and the heart of your girls. To God be the glory always! Merry Christmas.

    1. I know exactly what you mean. I didn’t want to sound like a jerk, but I had told people we were doing a Christmas edition. 🙂 If it inspires someone, it is worth another person not liking me.
      Merry Christmas Heather!

  3. I couldn’t love this post and the idea of intentional spending any more! It’s been a joy to read how God has worked in the life of your family and I know your girls will be more in tuned to blessing others because they’ve watched you give graciously!

Leave a Reply

