One Hundredth Time’s the Charm!

What is the definition of a type A personality? Telling myself that I’m not. Sure, maybe I try to control the situation occasionally. Things must occur on schedule. I push myself too hard and make myself anxious. If I am not doing something right, what’s the point?

Dang it, I’m more type A than I thought.

Every time God does something big despite my “help,” I swear I am going to get out of His way and let Him work next time. I make proclamations and vows of undying love. “No circumstance is too much for my God to handle!” “He loves me and I love Him!” “Look what He did in my life!”

Then the next day …….

How do I seem to forget that fast? Well, this past year I really have learned a lot. I am doing my best to remember it all. But the proclamations? I may have to tone it down. I am learning it is day by day, even minute by minute. My prayers have become “God, help me love You more each day.” “Use me to glorify You.” “I want Your will to be done.” One of the most important prayers has become “help me be patient while You work this out for my good and Your glory.”

Hard to believe, but this is my 100th post! Almost a year ago, I started this blog as a way to get writing experience and to talk about what God is teaching me. He has done so much, but now I know that I will never be as patient as I want. That is OK because through all the waiting, I have to trust. My faith in God grows a little each time He comes through for me. When times are uncertain, my friendship with God gets deeper. The more I trust, the closer He pulls me to Him. That is what God is really looking for. He doesn’t expect me to get everything right (or even most.) He wants to have a friendship with me that becomes my main focus. He implores me to keep my eyes on Him. When I have God in the right place, He is thrilled.

I am convinced that if I only learn one thing this year, it is to keep my relationship with God in the top spot in my life. Of course I have been told this all my life, but it has had to be something that sinks into my heart through experience. I had to really get it on my own. I had to learn that by taking my eyes off God, I start to sink. As soon as I lift my head up again and allow God to work, everything changes. My peace returns and God works everything out.

Have you learned that lesson? God wants to be your best friend, the One you turn to first. If the answer is no, ask Him to help you get there. He would love nothing more!

Linking with Faith Along the Way!

12 thoughts on “One Hundredth Time’s the Charm!

  1. Congratulations on your 100th post! Your type A tendencies and your proclamations that you’re going to get out of the way and let God be in charge sound a lot like me. I don’t think I’ll ever arrive to that lofty goal here on earth though. I agree that it’s a daily thing. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Definitely the number one lesson I need to be reminded of too: “I am convinced that if I only learn one thing this year, it is to keep my relationship with God in the top spot in my life.” Praying you have a Merry Christmas, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

