Ponder the Right Way

Luke 2:19 says “Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.” She treasured all the events that had just happened. She had just given birth to Jesus. THE Jesus.

In no way am I comparing myself to Mary, but I can’t imagine being her. I would have been freaking out. About everything. “God, I can’t raise Your son.” “Lord, I am sorry I had to have Jesus in a smelly barn.” I think the worst thing I would say is “I’m not good enough. Why would You pick me?”

Right now, something good is happening to my family. Want to guess my reaction? If you guessed that I have been pondering how great God is, how wonderful the situation is, you would be sadly mistaken. I have been telling myself this is too good. I don’t deserve it. Why is God blessing us this way? (Sorry for being cryptic. I will tell you all once things are settled.)

When something is going the way we hoped and dreamed, we should treasure the time. My reaction has been so off, and it takes away from God. He has been working behind the scenes, and His hand is so clearly in the situation. I shouldn’t wait for it to turn or tell Him He is wrong! I should absorb it all, take in every detail. I need to live in this moment because soon it will be over and I want to be able to relive it. If someone asks me how it all came together, I want to be able to share with them how God worked on our behalf. He changed people’s minds, made all of us wait, and then brought the pieces together in a final crescendo. I still want to cry when I think about it!

I don’t want to question this gift. God, for whatever reason, wants to bless us. I make it less special when I tell Him He shouldn’t have done it. I want to thank God and treasure His gift. I want to ponder His greatness, power, love, and overwhelming kindness. I want to graciously accept anything He chooses to give me, especially since that includes the night over two thousand years ago when He sent Mary His own son. God sacrificed His son in a brutal way so He wouldn’t have to spend eternity without little ol’ me. Yes, He loves me that much!

I want to honor God by pondering His blessings and not questioning His judgment. I choose to see His love as a gift and not feel guilty for it. I want to be known as a person who treasured her life, not just the parts she thought she deserved.

Thank You God for the blessings You shower me with, but most of all, thank You for Jesus!

Merry Christmas everyone!

Linking with Holley Gerth.

8 thoughts on “Ponder the Right Way

  1. Merry Christmas, Sarah, love your post today, reminding me to live in this moment, receiving all that the Lord chooses to bless me with–breath, heartbeat, movement, vision, hearing, family, love–savoring it all in a multisensory way, grateful for what I see, hear, smell, taste, and touch–after all, He is here, Emmanuel, God with us.

  2. It’s so crazy hard to believe our blessings sometimes, isn’t it? Why us? But when we think of the gifts we give our children–how happy it makes us, our delight at their surprise, it helps us understand just a little bit how God wants us to respond when he blesses us.

Leave a Reply

