Difficult People-For the Love

We all have those people in our lives who, for one reason or another, cause us problems. If you can’t think of anyone, you are blessed. Or maybe you’re the difficult one.

Ahem.

One type of “fun” people are the ones who take advantage. “Will you help with my latest crisis? Will you watch my kids? Can I come over now?” It never ends with them! In the beginning we say yes and now it seems we can’t escape. We don’t want to be rude-isn’t that in the Ten Commandments? Thou shalt not be rude? Well, there are times to say no. If we don’t set boundaries, this type of people won’t suddenly do it for us. The ones I come across like this are typically pretty clueless about their behavior. Bless their hearts. So if they fit in our schedule, then great. But there is no room for guilt if the answer has to be no. Just look at it this way: we are doing them a favor and showing them the world doesn’t revolve around them. They need to hear no sometimes.

Then there are the over sharers. I tend to be like my Mama and her Mama, with my shirt that says, “Talk to me. I’ll listen.” (No joke-my Mimi had a man in the cereal aisle ask which cereal would help move his bowels. She showed him one with bran without batting an eye.) Now, with my close friends, I don’t think there is such thing as TMI, but that doesn’t apply to everyone. And I certainly don’t need to hear what mean thing someone else said about me. (Haters gonna hate, hate, hate.) This type of person frustrates me, but I also feel bad for them. We all just want friends. We want to be known and loved. Their conversational habits show me they think of me as a close friend when they may not have many. While I may not want to hear it all, they want to tell me. Maybe I should see it as more of an honor than I do.

The other type I see a lot is the negative person. These people don’t have much to complain about, but by golly, they think they do. Every little thing irritates them and they let the world know. In general, I want to groan when I see these people, but then they would just complain about me. Really, I don’t know what is going on in their life. There may be something in their past or present that I am not aware of. The best thing I can do for them is let them know I am here if they need me. Or if I can’t think of anything nice to say, I should just keep my trap shut.

There will always be people who get under our skin, because we live in an imperfect world. What really matters is how we treat them. Is there a difficult person in your life that you need to look at a different way?

Linking with Holley Gerth!

16 thoughts on “Difficult People-For the Love

  1. I do have a difficult person in my life. Each time we interact I have to pray to Jesus for his heart and his eyes. I need him to shine love through me because I know with this person, at this point in our relationship I can’t do it without him!!

  2. mmm …. yep, you captured some of the ones that God seems to allow our way, Sarah. Trying at times, yes? Growing our character, stretching our patience, clarifying what’s important and what’s not?

    Oh yeah.

    These are opportunities for ministry. We know that there’s no payoff for us except God’s smile, His favor, when we love the ‘least of these.’

    And then we realize, all of a sudden, that there have been seasons in our lives when we have been that oh-so-needy soul. And He sent someone our way to show us the way.

    ;-}

  3. Pretty sure I’ve been that difficult person in someone’s life. Love to rewind and fix that. Alas, can only look forward and learn…to extend grace. And I find I have to do that regularly with those in my day-to-day, those I do life with…my family. Sometimes they just get under my skin. Only grace can fix that! Because, as you said Sarah, what’s important is how I treat them. Jesus said the world will know we are His disciples by the love we show one to another. And surely if He loves me, with all of my many many, many issues, I can love and extend grace to those around me…who grate at my nerves from time to time. Good reminder!

  4. You have a way with words girl! Yep I have some of those people in my life. I seem to be one that never shares problems or hurts as I don’t want to be “one of those people”. I guess there are also just those that listen. I just try to remember that everyone is going through something so be kind. Think it was a bumper sticker or something. Loved your insight.

  5. Sarah,
    Great post! I see myself as reserved so I’m always baffled that people tell me things that I probably wouldn’t share if I were them and I also have friends who ask a lot of this introverted’s time – -time that I resent giving. I have learned to set boundaries even though it’s difficult since I feel like I’m hurting their feelings but necessary if the friendship is going to continue. Your thoughts on this topic are insightful as always Sarah!

  6. There are definitely difficult people in my life that I need to readjust my vision about. One in particular is a girl that calls me to ask for favors a lot. I really feel God wants me to see it as my privilege to help her, not as a burden. But I still struggle. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

