What Being Part of a Prayer Group Has Done For Me

Since our church began having prayer meetings 18 months ago, I have changed. Now, I know people may be reading this, thinking there is no way they want to pray out loud in front of people. Well, this list is for you!

1. My legacy. When I was growing up, my Mom and her friends would get together once a week after we went to school. They would drink tea and pray for all of us. All these years later, the other ladies still pray together. They still pray for our family. As a kid, I didn’t think much about it, but I now know it was and is huge. They consistently took time to talk to God about their lives as a group. My girls see me leave twice a month for our prayer meetings. It is making an impact on them that they might not realize for years.

2. It has helped me become more comfortable praying out loud. I no longer think ahead of time about what I am going to say. I don’t try to sound spiritual and deep. It is just me talking to God. I pray when I feel led and soak up the other prayers. I am learning not to complicate it!

3. I have become a known prayer warrior. After I started asking for requests, people I never would have guessed have asked for prayer. Friends started asking for prayer other days too. They trust me with personal issues that I wouldn’t have known about and it has deepened these friendships. It is an honor and a privilege to bring others’ requests to God.

4. I have a better relationship with God. I now pray differently and have a better understanding of who God is. I have seen Him work in situations I wouldn’t have been aware were going on. There have been miracles as well as times I haven’t understood His reasons. But I know He is there, working in all of it.

5. I have new friends. Our church is large but feels smaller when you get to know people. The prayer team has bonded like a small group as we are together consistently. We pray for each other and encourage each other. I know I can trust them!

6. If I never took a step out and joined the NorthStar Church team, I would have missed so much. Praying in a group is special. We feel the Holy Spirit in the room in a way that I don’t feel other times. Everything falls away and it is just us having a conversation with God. I always walk away with more peace than I had coming in, no matter what is going on in my life.

Beyond these 6 are so many more things, and it is available to all of us. I believe God wants His children to be in the habit of praying with others, so He can show His power and His plan to us. Whether with family, friends, or other church members, we need to get past the excuses of fear and lack of time. We need to pray.

God is only using me and letting me experience these things because I am willing. Are you willing?

Linking with Faith Along the Way and Holley Gerth.

16 thoughts on “What Being Part of a Prayer Group Has Done For Me

  1. Wonderful Sarah! So much power in prayer. Our Christian lives would be so much more spirit-filled and empowered if we prayed more often. “For where two or three have gathered together in My name, I am there in their midst.” Matthew 18:20 (NASB)
    Blessings friend,
    Kamea

  2. I’m so glad you shared this. As I was growing up, I NEVER saw or heard women pray aloud. 😦 Such a loss. As an adult, I finally branched out and began praying aloud (using all my courage!) with a small group. Now it’s become a major joy in my life to pray with others. I’m sure this post will help others find that joy too. Thanks, Sarah.

  3. I am so glad you shared this too! I didn’t grow up in this type of home environment and am glad you have shown the joy that comes from regular deep intentional prayer time. Such a great post Sarah!

  4. I love this! My Mom always said that prayer is so important and vital! I love that you have been changed because of your time in your prayer group! Saying hello from the Saturday Soiree! I would loke to follow you but I can’t figure out how, I’ll look around your site so more! πŸ™‚
    Cathy

  5. Hello Sarah, I love this a lot. There is great power praying ‘along’ and ‘with’ others. You highlighted all the benefits you have enjoyed so far but you will have more to write about it soon.

    Thank you for your encouraging words. I totally appreciate your sweet comments over at my blog. I hope to stopby here more often because it is power packed.
    God bless

  6. I love how you live out your faith in the most practical ways … for God, for yourself, for your family, Sarah. Sadly, many churches value programs over prayer commitment. Without a steady team like you’re part of, we might as well close the doors.

    Sabbath blessings, my prayin’ friend …

  7. Sarah,
    Prayer is so powerful! I’m not the most comfortable praying out loud because it feels so private to me, but I admire your efforts to step forward and in doing so, being an example to your girls too. I have found that when I spend more time talking to God, I only want to talk to him even more! πŸ™‚

    1. So true, praying makes us want more of God. Must be His design. πŸ™‚
      Prayer is private, but it is so important to pray with others. When we are in a small group of like minded believers, the Spirit is present. It is powerful!

Leave a Reply

