Psalms Always Know

Psalm 13

How long, Lord? Will you forget me forever?
How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I wrestle with my thoughts
and day after day have sorrow in my heart?
How long will my enemy triumph over me?

Look on me and answer, Lord my God.
Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death,
and my enemy will say, ā€œI have overcome him,ā€
and my foes will rejoice when I fall.

But I trust in your unfailing love;
my heart rejoices in your salvation.
I will sing the Lordā€™s praise,
for he has been good to me.

I clearly remember the first time I read this Psalm and felt like David knew what was going on in my heart. I was in high school, on a church retreat, and my Mom had cancer. The world felt like it was spinning out of control and I was helpless to stop it. I knew all of the sayings that people say at times like this. “God doesn’t give you more than what you can handle.” “You’ll get through this.” I knew God had the future in His hands, but sometimes it is just so hard to leave it at that.

There I sat in my top bunk in the girls’ cabin with my Bible. I had randomly flipped to Psalm 13. It was just for me at that moment. David laid his heart out to God. He questioned God and asked how long He will stay hidden. How long will God allow David’s enemies to win? He didn’t sugarcoat his feelings and was honest. Then came the “but.” At the end he was also honest when he said he trusted God’s unfailing love. What a beautiful picture of how we are to be. God knows what we are going through and can take us questioning Him. He just wants us to get to a point of telling Him we trust Him. No matter what.

Are you in a dark place right now? A place where confusion and heartache reign and there is no glimmer of hope? You aren’t alone in it. Know that God can take your questions and He hurts for you. He never intended for you to go through this alone. Go ahead and ask God those tough questions that plague you. If He feels hidden, ask Him to reveal Himself. If you feel like you are losing a battle, remember you will have ultimate victory.

Once you get through your questions, don’t forget the crucial part of this Psalm: the end. Tell God you trust His unfailing love. Tell Him all the good things in your life you are grateful for. Praise God and then rest in the knowledge He is on your side. No circumstance will change that.

Linking with The Saturday Soiree

8 thoughts on “Psalms Always Know

  1. I love that David said it all. ‘Cause there’s times when there are no words to utter, to pray. And those memorized verses become the heart’s cry to God.

    Thank you, Lord, for Your Word. Only You knew how much we’d need it …

    Sabbath’s restful blessings to you, Sarah …

  2. Sarah, I love David’s psalms for exactly the reasons you wrote about. I love how he spills out all his questions, complaints and fears to God, and how that somehow always leads back to praise. Thank you for a beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

