Sisters

There is nothing in life like a sister. Mine came to visit for the weekend without her family. She is an interior designer and wanted to be able to focus on our new house. We had 47 hours of togetherness that went by fast.

Our weekend started off with an adventure our Mom would have been proud to witness. She probably would have been the ringleader. Elizabeth’s GPS led her through the back of the neighborhood. Her eagle eye spotted chairs by someone’s trash, so we went trash pickin’. Mom had an eye for people’s trash and could turn it into something amazing. When people admired it, she was as proud to tell them it came from the trash as some might be if it came from Ethan Allen. Thinking of that still makes me smile.

image image

We had lots of laughter and discussions that are difficult over Thanksgiving or other loud holidays. Although we are as different as two people can be, we had the same upbringing. We understand each other in a way others don’t. We still have a hard time missing Mom, but we have always had each other. Having her to cling to when I couldn’t talk to others has gotten me through rough times. I am at a point where Elizabeth’s bossiness is more tolerable. I understand she is trying to help and always has my best interest at heart. Besides, she is much better than me at many things. It was easier to let her tell me what to do this weekend. Our house feels more like a home after her visit and we have a long list of projects. She said she expects them to be done next time she is here. I don’t doubt her. πŸ˜‰

Over two days, we only cried once. I began to cry over a picture we found and she yelled at me because I made her cry. Then we laughed at ourselves. WeΒ can always laugh and cry together and are able to switch from one to the other seamlessly.

We painted 3 chairs and a cabinet, hung pictures, arranged furniture, and bought a few tables and lamps. It was a whirlwind that left me tired, sore, and with a smile on my face. I missed her as soon as she left.

I love my siblings with an affection reserved for them. They are such a gift and bring different perspectives and characteristics than I have. Siblings may not always seem like gifts, but we are put in our families for a reason. If we can learn to appreciate family, our days will be sweeter.

Life will have ups and downs, but siblings are there for the ride.

The good rides may lead to the trash.

Linking with Holley Gerth

22 thoughts on “Sisters

    1. I only included the trash chairs before and after. I would never have thought to rescue them and paint them from black to green. The girls can’t wait to have them at an art table!

  1. Sarah,
    So glad to hear about your time with Elizabeth. You accomplished a lot but more importantly had good time of relationship. Yes, you two are different, but both of you are good wives, moms and, most importantly followers of Jesus. I love you,
    Dad

  2. Visiting from Coffee For Your Heart. My sister and I have always been very different, and many times it’s pushed us away from each other. I’m so glad you had a great weekend with yours!

  3. How special to have this time. God is continually stretching me in my relationship with my sister. I love her dearly but it’s never been an easy relationship. I pray that my two girls will overcome the obstacles and have a unique closeness!

    1. I think sometimes my sister and I resort to our childhood roles. She gets bossy and I get whiny. I see the same pattern with my little girls, so I know it wasn’t just us. Hard to break that cycle!
      Let God keep stretching you and know it will be worth it! He knows what He is doing. πŸ™‚

  4. I have two sisters and even though we’re all three very different in many ways, we can still laugh and cry over the same things too. There’s something special about sisters, even when we get on each other’s nerves. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you had that special time with your sister. Love your pics.

  5. My sisters & I are as different as night & day, yet they’re my best friends! This post made me miss them. Thanks for sharing your heart here & for visiting me at Doorkeeper last week. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

