When the Prayer Isn’t Being Answered

Until last night, I was planning on writing something else. I felt a different topic being pressed on me and decided to go with it. Please bear with me.

Is there something you have prayed about for a long time? Do you have a burden that you lay at Jesus’ feet daily? I know I do. And I know it is so hard. I sometimes wonder if my prayers are doing any good. Are they being heard? Despair can creep in slowly and suddenly take over. Just like that, we give up the fight.

Jesus wants you and me to know that we should keep going. When we feel like nothing is happening, it is. We may not be able to see it. We may not even feel it, but it is there. God is there in the midst of the pain. He is working on what needs to happen. He knows our human frailty and understands our doubts.

Proverbs 15:29 says God hears the prayers of the righteous.

1 John 5:14 says if we ask according to God’s will, He hears us.

Romans 12:12 tells us to be faithful in prayer.

God doesn’t want us to give up on Him. His timing is not ours, and that is the best news. Think of all the things we would miss out on-the blessings, the miracles-if everything went the way WE want it to. I don’t know about you, but I don’t know everything. I don’t know the past and the future. I know a very small amount that occurs in my bubble. God knows it all because He planned it all.

When we or someone we know has been suffering for a long time, it is devastating. God knows that, but He wants us to hold on a bit longer. As soon as He is ready, as soon as His timing is right, things will change. We just have to remember to keep praying and believing that God’s will is the best. He alone knows what needs to happen.

Know that God is on your side. He is for you, so who can be against you?

Remember God loves you more than you can imagine. He would never give up on you, so don’t give up on Him.

Never let go. Never give up hope. Never stop praying.

Linking with Faith Along the Way

17 thoughts on “When the Prayer Isn’t Being Answered

  1. Sarah, thank you for these words today – – they are just what I needed. I love what you said about us missing out on blessings are miracles if things happen the way we want them to and our timeline, not God’s. I so appreciate these thoughts today!

  2. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this! The Lord has honored me with the gift of encouragement, and it blesses me to encourage others, but sometimes, I need to hear someone else speak the words you just have into my spirit. What a wonderful reminder to be patient. God bless!

  3. Ahhh Sarah!! I love when we have a plan and God says, nope this is what I need you to write… And you listened!!! ❀ thank you for this encouragement and reminder Sarah

  4. visiting (and now following!) from Sat Soriee linky…I know it is God’s time, not ours, but…I just don’t know how long he expects me to hang on..without any word/comfort..anything from him. Without evidence of at least a crawl move that he cares..it is very hard to keep hanging on. I will read all you post..maybe I will find it there. Thank you

    1. It is very hard to hang on, but I think sometimes the reason He has us wait is to build our faith. It may not even be about the situation but our faithfulness in prayer. Keep going and keep praying. They will be rewarded!

  5. This is such a timely reminder! Our women’s Bible study was just talking about this last night. It’s so good for you to write about a topic on all of our minds frequently! Thank you!

  6. I needed to read this today. My husband interviewed for a job a couple weeks ago–one we really wanted him to get, as it would move us closer to family. We’ve prayed he would get it, but we haven’t heard anything.
    I needed this reminder to wait for God’s timing and for the things He has for us. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

