Review of Esther Queen of Persia by Jim Baumgardner

esther

The story of Esther has always intrigued me. When I saw that Jim Baumgardner is a grandfather telling this story for his grandchildren, I was even more intrigued. His telling of the story in Esther Queen of Persia did not disappoint me!

I went into this book wondering how Mr Baumgardner was going to take the ten chapter book of Esther in the Bible and make it a full published book. He calls it “historical fiction based upon the Bible” in his intro. He obviously researched the history and time frame the story of Esther happened. He gives a more detailed account of when things happened. Much of the book is about Esther’s year of beautification before she was chosen to be queen. The cosmetics and jewelry mentioned were part of Persian life at that time. The musical instruments she learned as well as the game of polo were timely as well. The story came alive for me more than it has before.

One of the aspects this book talks about is Esther’s state of mind. I think it is safe to say it sounds like a dream come true for most of us. Being pampered and massaged for a year. Eating all the food we want because we are too skinny. Being waited on hand and foot. Meeting the king and possibly becoming queen.

However, Esther likely had misgivings. She was raised by her devout Jewish cousin and took care of the household tasks. Although beautiful, she was down to earth. Her goal was probably to marry a Jewish man and have babies, not be one of many wives of a king who believed in many gods. This book gets in Esther’s head and shows us that this may not have been her dream come true.

Esther 4:14 is a wonderful verse where Mordecai is encouraging Esther to stand up for her people. “Who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?” We have all faced uncertain and confusing times in our lives. We have had times where we wonder what God is up to and how He will redeem the circumstances. The lesson I learn from Esther is that as long as I stick with Jesus, He will be able to use me and bring glory to His name. I may not understand at the time, but it will one day be clear.

Who knows, God may use you and me to change the lives of many.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.

Linking with Faith Along the Way

10 thoughts on “Review of Esther Queen of Persia by Jim Baumgardner

  1. Sarah,
    Thanks for a wonderful review….I always appreciate learning more about the history behind a story as it makes me appreciate more what someone experienced. You may like this historical fiction, I recently read: A.D. 30 by Ted Dekker. Really enjoyed.

  2. This sounds like such a wonderful retelling of Esther. I’ve always been intrigued by the story and wonder how I would have reacted in her shoes. Thanks for sharing about this book.

  3. I do love good historical fiction, Sarah … It has a way of making another time and place take wings and soar!

    And I do love being back here with you again … Three weeks is a long spell. Looking forward to reconnecting with ya! I do hope all is well …

Leave a Reply

