My Heart Against the World

My heart cries out to You, Jesus

It knows this world can’t satisfy.

My heart says only You

The world convinces me other things will do.

My heart wants to be full of Your love

The world says this cupcake will make it better.

My heart longs to be soothed by Your voice

The world says this wine will calm me.

My heart craves Your wisdom

The world says to read this other book.

My heart longs to be near You

The world says my smart phone is the only company I need.

My heart wants to sit still and be with You

The world convinces me I need to be busy.

My heart wants your peace that passes all understanding

The world says peace only comes with more money.

My heart says I have enough

The world says I never will.

Jesus let me listen to my heart more than the world

For You are in it.

Help me fill myself up with You

Till there is room for nothing else.

Linking with Faith Along the Way

6 thoughts on “My Heart Against the World

  1. Oh to remember that this world can only offer alternatives that will never satisfy. Yes! I want to stay connected to Him. As Anne Graham Lotz says, “Just give me Jesus! “

  2. “My heart cries out to You, Jesus. It knows this world canโ€™t satisfy. My heart says only You. The world convinces me other things will do.” What a beautiful post – I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

