Forgive the Small Stuff

You ever keep hearing the same topic come up and still think, “well, that doesn’t apply to me”? I hope you are smarter than me and actually take notice when this happens.

The idea of forgiveness has been brought to my attention lately and until the end of this week I was thinking of someone else who needed to hear it. Bless my heart.

Because I am pretty good at forgiving the big things, I kind of gloss over the command to forgive 70 times 7. I get it, Jesus. You want us to forgive. Can we move on now? There have been big events in my life that I have forgiven people for, in time. My struggle is with the small things. The slights, the people who hurt my feelings, the times I am left out- those are the situations that trap me.

How is it I can forgive people who did big things on purpose but not those whose transgressions toward me are unintentional? What is wrong with me?

It occurred to me that I might not be the only one. Do you have a hard time with not holding a grudge when someone hurts your feelings? I wish I could say no, but some things I will rehash in my mind. It may not be a big deal, but by golly, by the time I am done analyzing it, it will be. The person may not even know what they have done that I am mentally punishing them for!

Several times this week, small slights have occurred that were never intended the way I took them. I guess God needed to get my attention so He could help me fix it. One is even that a new friend has not returned my text. There are many reasons this could have happened, but I jumped to: she must not really want to be my friend. (Cue sad sound.)

Let’s be honest, there are some people just naturally like this. Many of their actions can be seen as hurtful, so they are repeat offenders.

Give them grace.

People will leave you out unintentionally.

Cut them some slack.

You will think someone is ignoring you on purpose.

Believe they have a reason and give them another chance.

Someone will brush you off.

Assume they were busy and move on with life.

Your friend will say something that they knew would hurt your feelings.

Love them anyways.

Life is too short to walk around angry or frustrated with people, especially when they don’t know what they did. We (meaning I) need to work out our feelings and love unconditionally. Even holding small grudges is detrimental to our spiritual well being, so the faster we can learn to let go of the small things, the better. It won’t be easy for me, but I know I can do it with God’s help.

He’s always got my back.

Matthew 5:7 Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

Linking with Faith Along the Way

19 thoughts on “Forgive the Small Stuff

  1. Sweet Sarah,
    I can’t believe how much I am like you. My thoughts quickly jump to making assumptions as well. I forgive the big things fairly easily, but can be easily offended by the little things. Mostly by people who would never mean to hurt me. I think the evil one knows our unique weaknesses and picks on us there. So often, some of the most loving people have ignored me, or not gotten back to me, and it hurts. If they knew how I felt, they would be devastated. But I say nothing, and just feel sorry for myself. Let’s not give him a foothold of offense, and forgive the little things quickly. What wonderful advice.
    Much love,
    Kamea

    1. I do feel like we are a lot alike. Yeah, I say nothing to keep the peace, but that doesn’t mean there is peace in my heart. I am glad I have someone to work on this with! πŸ™‚

  2. I can totally relate to this post….! I am quick on making assumptions when I need to be quicker to extend grace and forgive! Thanks for the reminder today Miss Sarah! β™₯

  3. Amen, girl … preach it! How much energy have we wasted along the way, wringing our hands about petty, small things that we should have released long ago.

    I keep on hsving to learn this lesson repeatedly, so believe me, you’re in good company.

    I’m so glad you wrote this. You’re the best!

  4. So glad that God has our back. I think it’s so strange how sometime we can forgive those bigger things easier than smaller things. But yeah, we’ve got to let it all go for everybody’s sake. Thanks for this, Sarah.

  5. I really have to laugh at how timely this is! I don’t know why it hasn’t occurred to me that I need to forgive those probably-all-in-my-head offenses, as well as the “big” ones. Good words here.

  6. I can so relate, Sarah! I’m such a grudge holder at times. Unfortunately I passed this along to my daughter too. We are both working on this now. I find myself chanting grace in my head throughout the day :). We are so freely given grace, yet sometimes it’s hard to give others. Thanks for this! He really does have our backs. Love that!

    1. It really is hard. This weekend God has been revealing more people I have been holding grudges against without really being aware of it. How sad! We can beat this! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

