I Am Enough

After being out of town last week, my feet hit the ground running yesterday morning. In my mind were a million (at least) things that needed to get done or the world was going to end. All of y’all’s fates were in my hands and I knew it. My poor brain was ready to explode.

Have you been there? Or should I ask: are you there now? I know many people are like me and pile on the tasks and pressure until we are ready to crumble. Well, I will tell you what God told me. Breathe.

Everything will get done. If one thing has to wait until tomorrow, it will still work out. Somehow though, once the pressure was lifted, I was able to get through my list. I wasn’t frantic and running around like a crazy person anymore but could enjoy my day. I noticed more little things and was kinder to my kids. The strain in my shoulders eased as stress melted away.

I do NOT have to get it all done.

I can ask for help.

I should stop putting time limits where they aren’t necessary.

I will enjoy my precious family.

Since we were out of town on her actual birthday, we ended the day with a celebration for Lauren. It was fun and I didn’t have to miss out on it because I had stressed myself out. I was present and got to have cake and ice cream.

FullSizeRender (3)

We were able to end the day with smiles instead of an exhausted mama. I will cherish these years as they fly by with my family. If God hadn’t stopped me yesterday and helped me relax a bit, the day would have gone much different.

I want to set the example for my girls and for them to know they don’t have to be Superwoman. They don’t have to get everything done, and they definitely don’t have to pressure themselves to be perfect.

God made them (and me) just right, and to Him, we are perfect.

Philippians 4:12-13 I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.

Linking with Holley Gerth and her new book You’re Loved No Matter What

6 thoughts on “I Am Enough

  1. Happy Birthday to sweet Lauren … my that cake looks yummy. If I lived closer, I just might have invited myself over for a leftover slice today and maybe a cup of tea!

    I hear you about the feet hitting the ground running. Yesterday was one of those days here, too. I can so resonate with what you’ve written, friend.

    ;-}

    May your week have lots of restful moments!

  2. Sarah,
    First things first — that is a LOVELY cake for your Lauren! And oh how I love that you’re trying to let things go. I’m not a mom, but if I were I think I would have an extremely difficult time of choosing what needs to get done and what can slide until another day. You are brave to recognize that your girls crave you and the time with you more than anything else you can do! 🙂

    1. Oh it tasted good. Vanilla with chocolate frosting. 🙂
      Realizing not everything has to get done is one of those things that sometimes has to be repeated and learned over time, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

