Sometimes You Gotta Take a Leap

Taking the first step is so difficult since we don’t know the outcome. But we have to hold onto our faith and know things are going to work out and just go for it.

Back in October, James and I decided to sell our house. I said on here that I wanted more space and less stuff. I wanted the girls to be able to play outside. (Imagine that!) It seemed crazy to move for a better yard, to take a risk on a new house and neighborhood.

One night, we sat on our deck and talked about what we wanted. James asked the fair question of what if the girls don’t want to play outside. What if we go through all this and things don’t go the way we wanted? I didn’t really have answer except for “I think they will.”

Y’all I was right! Our children love riding bikes in the cul-de-sac and climbing trees. They color with chalk and come in covered in dirt sometimes. They play in the rain, in the cold, and in the heat. Future mail carriers, perhaps? They have new friends they can’t wait to play with after school.

FullSizeRender (4)

Yes, that is them in the cold wet weather we have been having, despite the fact that it is April in the south. I have been amazed at all the times they have run out the door to play since we moved in January. They can’t get enough!

Do you know what my biggest problem now is? I can’t get them to come home! I know they are in a few backyards that back up to our street, so I yell. Once or twice we ate dinner without the girls because I figured they would come in when their friends had to or they got hungry. They did. One lazy Sunday night, they were out front at seven, and James asked if we should make them come in. Perhaps, but they were busy making up for lost time.

It has done good for this mama’s heart to see and hear my babies enjoying being kids. Soon enough, they won’t want to play outside anymore and they will have more adult responsibilities. For now, they need to play.

If we hadn’t done what some might say was crazy, our kids would be stuck inside, too far away to walk to friends’ houses. But we listened and trusted, and they are having the time of their lives.

And so am I.

Linking with Holley Gerth

18 thoughts on “Sometimes You Gotta Take a Leap

  1. I’m so glad you “listened and trusted.” It looks like you made a wonderful move. What a great way for your precious kids to grow up. I remember when I was young, we would be outside playing all day. My son never goes outside. Thanks for the reminder of the fun and importance of this childhood play! I may send him out for a little while today :).

    1. We did make a wonderful move Candace! We were outside a lot when I was younger, so I am glad my girls now have a chance. I love that you want your son to play outside today! 🙂

  2. This reminds me of when I was a child. I played outside all day and did not go inside until my parents called for me. Ahh the good old days. I’m glad your daughters get to experience the freedom of being children.

  3. Sarah,
    I think playing outside is almost a lost art these days! What a joy it must be to see the girls enjoying their new home since on some level, moves are a bit unsettling. Knowing that you trusted God for your new place makes it all the sweeter! 🙂

  4. It’s so funny to read this today. God sure knows how to make me smile! I’ve been trying to shove down this desire to move for a while, and it just keeps popping back up. We are settled here, and change seems crazy and a little scary. Thanks for this reminder that sometimes change is good!

  5. I’ve always loved looking out the window and watching my girls play, too, especially when they don’t know I’m watching! The day did come when my 13-year-old stopped wanting to be outside constantly, but every now and then her little sister will convince her to come out and play. 🙂 I’m so glad you found a home where all that fun can take place every day!

  6. It’s awesome when we can see the rewards of our steps. So glad your kids have made themselves right at home in the neighborhood. We had a similar situation; it was a scary step to move, but we did it, and with NO regrets. Not everything turns out that good that quick, but I’m glad that God rewards our leaps speedily at times. 🙂

Leave a Reply

