Don’t Forget to Pack the Kids by Jill Richardson Review

When I saw this book, I couldn’t wait to read it. Don’t Forget to Pack the Kids by Jill Richardson is a quick read with a lot of information. She shares her experiences of trips with her husband and three daughters. Her wisdom is hard earned and her passion is obvious.

As you all know, Lauren is doing a project with Food for the Poor where we are supplying a family in Guatemala with animals to sustain them. Once we finish this one, our plan is to raise approximately $50,000 to build a school through Food for the Poor. I have known that once the school is built, our family will go down and meet the kids and see the school. It is so important to me for us to see how other people live, as a family.

This book grabbed me from the beginning. Jill Richardson’s line “We went to church every week and learned the evils of sin, but what about the evils of complacency?” had me nodding in agreement. All the trappings we have in the US are truly numbing kids (and adults) into being careless Christians. We are so self centered and make everything about us. She didn’t go too far when she used the word “narcissistic.”

Yes, we can do good here at home, but as Mrs. Richardson points out, the distractions of our lives pull our focus from where we intend it to be. Going on a short term missions trip also helps our children learn to be sensitive to other cultures and learn that we don’t have the only right way to do things. Kids will definitely learn flexibility on a trip, something they will need the rest of their lives.

While trips can be dangerous, everything we do in life can be dangerous. I don’t think we can live in fear of what may happen. And yes, our children will see things we try to protect them from in their normal life. However, these experiences can lead to great discussions and set our children’s hearts on fire for Jesus. They won’t be the same.

Jill Richardson gives important information on topics like obtaining passports and shots, as well as what to pack. She tells us how to prepare kids intellectually, emotionally, and spiritually. There is even a spiritual gift inventory, sample letters, and testimony tips at the end.

I think anyone who has thought about taking their family on a missions trip should read this gem. Jill Richardson can’t make up your mind for you, but she can give you lots of reasons to go for it. Her family is a shining light in this world, and they give me hope for when our family goes on a trip. She can do the same for you.

Disclosure:  I received a free copy of this book to review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations. I am part of The CWA Review Crew.

Linking with Holley Gerth

6 thoughts on “Don’t Forget to Pack the Kids by Jill Richardson Review

  1. Thanks, Sarah. I am so glad you are teaching your family to have such open hearts. I love the school goal. That is huge–and God will do things with you all you can’t imagine.

  2. Sarah,
    Although I’ve never been on a missions trip, my nephew’s school takes groups to Costa Rica when they are in high school (still a few years away for him!) but I think it’s just amazing for a teen to do something like this. I wish I had had the opportunity when I was younger since I think it would have been impactful for my faith — and I do know that it’s never too late to go! 🙂

    1. Oh yes, it would have really cemented my faith, but I never went. I think going as a family, and experiencing it all together, would be wonderful. The spiritual growth that would happen is what I am looking forward to!

Leave a Reply

