Daddy’s Girl

My Dad was born on Mother’s Day. Growing up, I would hear Grandma, who lived with us, say that he was her best Mother’s Day present. Even now, that makes me smile.

image

I am a Daddy’s girl. My Dad and I have always had a special bond and I have many memories of things he and I did together. I remember the first 5K I ran with him and how happy I was that he wanted to spend time with me. He took me to a baseball game once, just me and him. There is the controversial gift I received that my sister still brings up. We had been gem mining and my parents let me have a sapphire ring made. Well, it was August and I didn’t want to wait for Christmas. I convinced Dad to give it to me then as a “Good Daughter Award.” That didn’t go over well at home, but it was sure a good memory for me.

My Dad has always made me feel special. He encouraged me in all I did and came to every choir concert, piano recital, or play I was in. That seemed normal at the time, but now I know all daddies don’t do that. He was there with a smile on his face that showed me there was no place else he’d rather be.

Dad listened when I needed him to and gave advice when I needed some. He taught me to dream big. We may not achieve everything we want, but the important thing is to try. I learned that by watching him.

image

Dad is a loving example of a godly father and husband. He is the reason I made a good choice when I married James. I knew what to look for and to find a man who cherishes me and now our two girls.

I never doubt Dad’s love for me or that he would do anything for me. I grew up secure in the knowledge that I could never do anything that would make him not love me. Because of his love, I am who who I am today.

Now Dad is the first person I call on many occasions. He gives me advice, listens to me, laughs with me, cries with me, and most important, prays for me. I couldn’t have asked for a better dad.

Happy early Birthday Dad! I love you!

Linking with Faith Along the Way

9 thoughts on “Daddy’s Girl

  1. Sarah, Thank you for your kind words. The greatest treasure I have on earth are you three children and when I hear your heart’s desire in following Jesus, I am most thankful. 3 John verse 4 says, “I could have no greater joy than to know that my children are walking in the truth.” This was a great birthday gift! You are a wonderful daughter and I love you! Dad

    1. Thank you for being you and raising me to know and love Jesus. That is the greatest thing you have done for me. Have a great birthday weekend! I love you!

  2. What a tribute! Without a father’s love and encouragement, we travel through life with a piece missing. You are blessed … and your wedding picture just shines! Thanks for sharing your family with us, Sarah!

    Hugs!

    1. 🎉🎂❤️🎂🎉HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAVE!🎉🎂❤️🎂🎉
      What a true blessing to see in Sarah how good and faithful God is. You have been blessed beyond measure. Her walk with Jesus encourages me, just like you, Vicki, your mom & dad. Each generation that continues to bring glory to God because of the preceding one setting the example of walking the talk. Enjoy YOUR day!!
      **Sarah, wonderful words about a wonderful dad!

  3. It is such a blessing to have a father who teaches us how to trust God’s love. Loved this post!

  4. Aw, what a special bond you have with your dad. I see that with my daughters and my hubby too. And I’m thankful, not jealous. We each have our own special relationships, and none detract from the other. Happy birthday to your dad!

Leave a Reply

