Summer Challenge

image

Our church has elementary school aged children learn verses each month. The kids get points for saying them to us leaders, bringing their Bibles, finding books of the Bible, and more. While my youngest got a prize every time she had enough points (she earned every little rubber duck offered, bless her heart), my oldest let the points build up. Another leader told me she offered her son a penny for every point he earned. We decided maybe it was bribery, but it is worth it if it makes our kids want to learn about Jesus. My Lauren did finally use her points on glow in the dark headphones. (Yay for the preteen years!)

This got me thinking about all the verses I learned as a kid in church and Christian schools. I still know many because my brain was like a sponge at that point. I don’t want to waste these years with my girls, so I gave them a challenge. We are going to learn a verse a week for 10 weeks. If, at the end, they can tell me all 10, they will get $10. We started last night, so we can be done before we go to the beach.

Here are the verses we picked:

Deuteronomy 3:22 Do not be afraid; The Lord your God Himself will fight for you.

Ephesians 4:32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

Hebrews 11:1, 6 Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to Him must believe that He exists and that He rewards those who earnestly seek Him.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on you own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your path.

Philippians 4:13 I can do everything through Him who gives me strength.

Ephesians 4:29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up.

Galatians 5:22 The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.

Jeremiah 29:13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

1 Peter 3:8-9 Live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate, and humble. Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing.

Galatians 6:9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

The summer will be much richer, and lessons will abound I am sure. Do you have any goals with your kids this summer?

Side note: we got the verse cards at Comfort Food for the Soul. They are awesome!

Linking with Holley Gerth

16 thoughts on “Summer Challenge

  1. I love this …. our little ones hiding God’s Word deep in their hearts.

    It’s the King James Version that I learned as a little girl that whispers truth in the night! His Word STAYS!

    Love to you and your little ones, Sarah!

    ;-}

  2. Sarah, what a great idea! And those are great Bible verses to start with. I work at a church and get to work with all ages. My fave is watching kids tell me what they learned etc. Faith does begin in the home so it is cool that you are doing this activity at home too. Blessed to be your neighbor over at Coffee for your Heart today!

    1. Yes, we loved asking the girls what they learned when they were a little younger. Not as hilarious now that they get it more right. 🙂
      Thank you for coming over!

  3. What a great idea! Your precious girls are so cute! I love the verses that you picked out as well. Great post, Sarah – I love your heart for teaching your daughters God’s truths!
    Blessings,
    Kamea

  4. What a great idea! Our girls are a bit older (21 & 22), so my summer plans with my ‘kids’ involves helping our oldest and her husband move half way across the country to a new job and then going on a road trip with her for two weeks :). We’ll visit Laura Ingalls Wilder sites and look for birds, and enjoy each other’s undivided attention!

Leave a Reply

