When I Am Overwhelmed

Over the weekend, I had one of those nights. I felt like I was failing at everything. I wanted to be a better wife and mother, write easier, sell more, and raise more money, but it felt like I hit a wall in every area. I was trying so hard and doing all I could think to do. I was spinning my wheels, going nowhere, drowning.

I collapsed into bed with an overwhelmed spirit, feeling like I can’t find my place and oh so lonely. Tears poured out and down the sides of my face and into my hair-tears that had been at the surface, building up until they spilled out.

“I can’t do this anymore!” my heart cried out to God. In the next ten minutes, my worries tumbled out and kept time with the tears. I didn’t want to stop them, because I knew I needed to take my heartache to the One who put that heart in me. No one else understands where I have been and where I am going like Jesus. No one else gets the anguish I feel.

I came to one realization at this time. I have done everything in my power, praying all the while. I am just at the point where I need to step back and let God work. Maybe in some areas, the timing is off. I prayed for peace and rest. I know nothing gets done without God and am usually OK with that. I needed the reminder to sit back and wait instead of scurry around trying to do it all and fix it all.

It was a moment I had to come to the end of my strength and then reach out for more. God had to let me get to that place so I could see what I was doing wrong. I needed to see that maybe He wants me to try a different tact or wait a little. Either way, I needed to give everything back to God.

I didn’t wake up the next morning with everything fixed and humming along. The situations may not have changed, but I have. God is giving me peace when I ask for it, but just enough for each day. I can’t let it get to that point again. I don’t know what is going to come of the circumstances of my life, but that knowing was an illusion anyways. I must do my part and let God do His.

When I am overwhelmed, it is my heart longing for God. It is my signal to stop, step back and pray. There is no other way to get back on track.

Thank You, Jesus, for wanting me by Your side. Thank You for never giving up on me. I won’t give up on Your plans.

Linking with Holley Gerth

23 thoughts on “When I Am Overwhelmed

  1. Yes, that familiar feeling of helplessness at the end of one’s rope! Yet right there is the most wonderful, frightening opportunity — to let go! Faith is believing in what we do not see, and God’s ways are sometimes revealed so slowly, even though we think we need that information/direction/help now, now, now! I remember nights like yours, three children, no husband, financial pressures, work pressures, the feeling of not enough time or energy or wisdom . . . Then a night of good sleep in the Lord’s care and a fresh new day . . . A verse that helped me many times was Psalm 61:2 — “When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the rock that is higher than I.” From my perspective now, I see those overwhelming times as the Lord drawing me closer to teach me to trust him more and depend on myself less: precious times!

  2. Hi Sarah- This was great! I so often feel the way you described. So good to depend on Him and trust Him with the results and to complete His wonderful plan in me- Thanks for these great thoughts today 🙂

  3. Oh Sarah…. I have been in the same boat lately…this verse helps… Psalm 31:7 “I will be glad and rejoice in your unfailing love for you have SEEN my troubles and you CARE about the anguish of my soul.”
    You’re not alone girl!!!!♥

      1. You’re so welcome! Me too! I’ve started circling it every time I see it in my translation of the bible (NLT) and I’ve got a lot of circles! ♥

  4. Sarah,
    You are such a talented and energetic woman with much to give! Even though those emotions threaten to overwhelm you, now is the time to experience a new facet of God’s character and when you come through on the other side, you will be amazed at his capacity to meet us and give us more than we could even think to ask for! Praying for you friend, to know that nothing you feel escapes his sweet notice of us! 🙂

  5. Oh Sarah, I have uttered those exact words to God: “I can’t do this anymore!!” And then, like you, I spill out the rest of my heart, cry for awhile, and then get back up and keep doing it! Keep on doing what you’re doing … God is faithful!

    1. Releasing all that weight is such an important part of the process, isn’t it? I always feel better afterward, regardless of the situation. Thank you for coming by!

  6. “When I am overwhelmed, it is my heart longing for God.” Ooh, I like that, Sarah! I’m quite familiar with that overwhelmed feeling (even this week) so I need to remember this truth that you’re sharing.

  7. “When I am overwhelmed, it is my heart longing for God.” Great truth in that phrase. So many of us, if we answered honestly, would say we feel overwhelmed a lot of the time. Why? because we are trying to do things in our strength instead of relying and depending on the Lord. I’ve been known to try and try and try until I get to the end of myself. Then, and only then, will I turn it over to God. He is teaching me, and I am trying to learn to turn everything over to Him from the get go…easier said than done. Thank you for pointing us back to the One who gives us strength, purpose, direction, and love.
    Blessings,
    Bev

    1. Amen Bev! We really do get overwhelmed because we want to do it all ourselves. We are afraid to show vulnerability, when that is what God is after. May we never be hesitant to surrender our burden to God again!

  8. Yes, give it to Him…LOVELY! That’s when we have totally surrendered OUR will and way to His. Susan

  9. We have all been there Sarah and it is a pure, sweet joy when you can just be still and know that God has everything under control. I love it when that peace floods my heart. May you have trust that God will weave all things together for your good. Praying you have less overwhelming moments and more joyfilled ones. 🙂

Leave a Reply

