The Thunder Rolls

On Sunday we had a strong thunderstorm with hail. A few minutes after my husband left for a tennis match in a sunny part of town, I heard a horrible crash (figures.) Once I regained some composure and found courage, I went to check it out and found this.

image

We are so thankful that the only casualty was our swing, which took the brunt of the load. There is a hole in the deck, but I am not sure we would have much of a deck anymore if the swing hadn’t been there. Now we just have a massive tree that needs to be cut down before more limbs fall.

Anyways, aΒ great friend of ours offered to come move the branch off the house for us, so another branch didn’t fall on top and cause more damage. I called the girls down to show them, since I knew they would hear his chainsaw. Lauren wasn’t scared and wanted to help. I told her the best way for her to help would be to distract her sister. Kaitlyn said she was going to have nightmares and was afraid the thunder was going to make another branch fall. (For the last hour, we had had a constant stream of thunder and lightening, as the radar showed this thin storm was pretty much only over our nieghborhood.)

I sat Kaitlyn down and talked to her about how we were safe and it isn’t the thunder, yada yada. You know what actually helped her? She recited the verse we learned a few weeks ago. “Do not be afraid. The Lord your God Himself will fight for you.” Deuteronomy 3:22

THAT is why we need to memorize verses! I was so excited she understood. Being able to recall something at the right time takes effort, but it is so worth it. We were scared and knew God was with us. He would fight for us and keep protecting us. We knew it but needed a reminder.

It is never too late to learn verses from God’s word. We definitely seem to do better as kids, but I memorize as an adult too. My strategy is to say the verse out loud 5 times each day for a week. If I am doing a passage, I say the verses I have already learned, and then I add a new one on each week. Some great passages I have done on my own are Philippians 4:4-13 and 1 Timothy 6:6-12, 17-19.

The key to continuous peace is having the Bible in our heart so it can flood our mind when we need it. Do you have God’s word ready when you need it?

Linking with Holley Gerth

24 thoughts on “The Thunder Rolls

  1. His Word is powerful and effective. How wonderful that even a child can understand what it is that God offers us! Wonderful reminder of the power in memorizing Scripture. Cheering on you and your inspiring little princesses!
    Blessings and hugs,
    Kamea

  2. Sarah … don’t you love when our little ones minister to us? So life-giving. That memorization of Scriptures and hymns early on has paid off for me, even as 60 looms. I remember every verse of every hymn I ever sang. And oodles of verses in the KJV.

    His Word doesn’t return void. It sticks, it stays, it saves!

    Hope your week is going better than that stormy afternoon …

    Hugs!

    1. Oooh yes, hymns! I have taught the girls some of the hymns too. They are always good πŸ™‚
      You hit the nail on the head with it sticks, it Stays, it saves. Love your comments!

  3. Sarah, I agree with you about being prepared with Scripture and am happy it was comfort for your girl. The best time to learn to use a weapon is BEFORE you need it. Your post is good encouragement for that. On my blog is a Scripture memory program called #ScriptureBank2015 for that very reason. (It keeps a fire under me to learn and take the Scriptures to heart.) Thanks for sharing your Scripture success story to aid us in the battle. To God be the glory. (Oh, and thank God the tree’s damage was limited and your family is okay.) #coffeeforyourheart

  4. Love how God brings His Word to life, especially in our time of need. Love even more how God inspires and teaches us through our own little ones. This definitely gives, “out of the mouth of babes” a fresh meaning. Thank you so much for sharing, as this is a perfect example that He is always at work in our lives. Sweet Kaitlyn, keep listening to God’s voice. He’s going to use you to reach the lost and rock the world! πŸ™‚

  5. love this verse!! so precious- the words of God and how they comfort and speak to our hearts just the way we need it-I am so glad you reminded me that this was one of my summer goals to work on my memory verses! I have been so busy and tied up in things I haven’t had a change to put the list of things I want to do this summer that is in y head down on paper- Its time!! I need to- Thanks for the encouragement- so glad your house is ok – and thankful to hear this story of your sweet daughter and how she is clinging to his word! Thanks Sarah! πŸ™‚

  6. Sarah,
    Having scripture in your daughter’s head and heart to weather the storms of life and nature’s rain and windstorms too, is something she will never forget. And I’m glad your house took only minimal damage and that you all were safe! Those storms can pack a powerful punch!

  7. We have thunderstorms raging outside right now. πŸ™‚
    Your account here is wonderful and provides even more motivation for me as I continue to sing hymns and recite verses to my daughter. She can’t yet speak, but when she can I’m hoping she’ll already have some of these memorized.

Leave a Reply

