Yoke of Jesus

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light. Matthew 11:28-30

The older I get, the more I understand this passage. I used to think all I had to do was give Jesus my problem and He would make life instantly better. Then, when that didn’t happen, I assumed I did it wrong or wasn’t trying hard enough to not worry or something along those lines.

When you picture a yoke, it is not solitary. It is not something you put on and trudge along by yourself. When yokes are used, it is on two oxen, horses, or donkeys. It is to make the load they are pulling lighter and easier, but they still have to work. They have a partner, which makes the work possible.

I think that is what I missed for years. Jesus wants to be side by side with me. He is not pulling my load while I sit in the shade with sweet tea. I must still work, but I have help and a lighter load. Sometimes the work involves waiting patiently while Jesus works things out, but I always have a part.

For those of you struggling right now, Jesus is with you. It may seem like you’re alone and life is too hard, but you have the One who created you in the trenches with you. He has not left your side for someone who is better than you. He has not given up on you because you are a lost cause. He is not disgusted by you.

Jesus sees your pain and feels it too. Every tremble moves Him too. Every sigh is transferred through the yoke. When you cry, He cries. When you scream and shout about how unfair life is, He agrees. He knows.

Jesus gets down in the dirt of our lives, always willing to get us out of the mess. It may get worse before it gets better, but it will get better.

We are never alone. I am never alone. YOU are never alone. Jesus is here. He brought His light burden and is going to share the load.

We are not promised a pain free life this side of heaven, so in the meantime we must hold onto Jesus. He will get us through the bad times, even when He has to practically carry us.

Linking with Faith Along the Way

12 thoughts on “Yoke of Jesus

  1. Knowing that He’s been there, done that, is always encouraging to me. He truly gets who we are and what we’re walking through.

    So trustworthy, so present is He!

    Sabbath joy, Sarah!

  2. “For those of you struggling right now, Jesus is with you.” Sarah, this is sweet, sweet encouragement. HIs yoke that is easy and rest that is faithful are beyond compare. I just need to remind myself of that when the soil gets a bit rocky. 🙂

  3. One aspect that strikes me is that we were made to work, not to sit and watch. We are going to be happiest when we are working at something that is in God’s plan for us. The thought of him helping us and making the work light is a great blessing. Thanks for sharing this encouragement.

  4. Sarah,
    There is so much worth contemplating here. But I’m struck by your desire to proclaim that we are not alone. There are so many out there who are flooded with that lie from the enemy and I am glad you are here adding your voice of truth to combat that lie.j
    I needed the reminder that his yoke is easy, so thank you!

    Embracing the Journey,
    Christi

  5. I used to think the same thing Sarah: “…all I had to do was give Jesus my problem and He would make life instantly better.” God definitely places a mantle upon our lives, but we’re never alone in carrying it out. It’s never fully our responsibility ~ and everyone said, AMEN!
    Thank you for your sweet words of encouragement and timely reminder that He feels everything we do because we are yoked.

Leave a Reply

