Where is Your Security?

“You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind, and naked.” Revelation 3:17

This verse cut me to the quick and it should to all of us. I may not go around saying I am rich, but I am rich to much of the world. So many people are suffering while I am comfortable. God and His will should always be at the forefront of my thoughts, but He is not. Because my life seems to be in order, I don’t always act like my life depends on God. I instead act like my family and I are in control. I make it look like our future is in our own hands.

The truth is that our lives could change in an instant. Things could come up or disappear that completely disrupt the flow I have deemed as important. At some point, something will happen that will shake me to my core if I have the wrong thing at the center.

Honestly, this is why I don’t ever want too much money. It is far too easy to rely on money and to not cling to God. When I focus on Him and what He is telling me is important, my foundation is set for rocky times. I don’t ever want to get to the point of thinking I don’t need Jesus. I want to know that I need Him for every breath, for every step, and for every decision. As soon as I step away from that, even for a moment, the walls can come falling in.

I know for me it is a choice I have to keep making. I have to choose to put Jesus at the center and constantly remind myself that I don’t have it all under control. I am at the mercy of the life that God has planned for me, and that is how I want it.

God is taking me on a ride that is wild and freeing. If I don’t let go of all the other stuff, I will miss out on what He has for me.

If I learn nothing else I want it to be this: Money has nothing to with security and God has everything to do with it.

Linking with Holley Gerth

6 thoughts on “Where is Your Security?

  1. Girl you are echoing the prayer I prayed yesterday that I wouldn’t let money equal security but let Jesus equal my security…. it’s haaaaard though…. Thanks for the reminder. I keep returning to these verses: Proverbs 30:7-8….. O give me neither poverty nor riches… Have a wonderful day friend!

  2. Sarah,
    I love this: God is taking you on a ride that is wild and freeing. This is so true, isn’t it? He leads us to places we’d never imagine and he says, “Let’s go together.” Your willing heart and tender (yet tough) spirit make you the kind of person who says yes to him and opens your hands for all he has for you! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

