Land of the Free

We like to be dramatic, don’t we? We say our rights are being taken away and make broad statements about how Jesus is coming soon. Don’t get me wrong, I pray He does. The truth is, things have always been bad and getting worse. We have been talking about His return since the Bible, so it might still be awhile!

As I think about Independence Day, I am so grateful for my freedom. I can worship God at home, in church, and outside-anywhere. I have multiple Bibles and don’t fear for my safety when I say I am a Christian on Facebook. Soldiers and police don’t walk in my house and arrest me.

My children will grow up with all the hope in the world. They have so many advantages they wouldn’t have in other countries. They are free to find out who they are meant to be while getting an education. They can play outside and discover all the beauty that was created for them.

My husband has a good job with insurance. We live in a country with a good middle class where we aren’t forced into extremes of poverty or riches. Because of his job, I am able to pursue passions of writing and helping others.

In the US, we have freedom. We have independence from fear, persecution, illiteracy, and hunger. We are free to pursue the life we want. No, we don’t always achieve it, but no one is telling us we can’t. We are encouraged to dream big and be bold.

Nothing this side of heaven is perfect, but here in America, I believe it is as close as it could be.

FullSizeRender (17)

“O beautiful for spacious skies,
For amber waves of grain,
For purple mountain majesties
Above the fruited plain.
America! America! God shed His grace on thee,
And crown thy good with brotherhood
From sea to shining sea.”

“My country, ’tis of Thee,
Sweet Land of Liberty
Of thee I sing;
Land where my fathers died,
Land of the pilgrims’ pride,
From every mountain side
Let Freedom ring.”

“Oh, say, can you see, by the dawn’s early light,
What so proudly we hail’d at the twilight’s last gleaming?
Whose broad stripes and bright stars, thro’ the perilous fight,
O’er the ramparts we watch’d, were so gallantly streaming?
And the rocket’s red glare, the bombs bursting in air
Gave proof thro’ the night that our flag was still there.
Oh, say, does that Star-Spangled Banner yet wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave?”

As we honor our country this weekend, I ask you to think of all you have and be grateful. Happy Independence Day!

Linking with Faith Along the Way

2 thoughts on “Land of the Free

  1. Thank you for this beautiful reminder of what this holiday is all about, Sarah! I hope you had a wonderful and meaningful weekend. We really are so blessed to live in this amazing “land of the free” :).

Leave a Reply

