August Changes

As it is August, my life is changing again. From volunteering to writing a book, God has been bringing something new to me each year. Some years I search frantically for the wrong thing. This year, God got ahead of me for a change!

Since we have some big expensive home repairs that need to be done, I once again pondered a job. In my mind this summer, I tried to figure out what days I could work and wondered about what I would do all the days the kids have no school. And would I need after school care? My thought was to get the girls in school last week and then start looking.

Well, a week before school started, I was talking with my friend for a minute and told her I decided to get a job. She had just heard about one that morning. I had an interview the next morning and was offered the job. I started this past Friday!

It was totally God. My new boss told God, “Bring me someone who loves You and loves kids.” He brought us each other. I pick up lunches and take them to a school. I serve those lunches, clean up, and bring the dishes and leftovers back. It is four hours a day when my girls are in school. (This is good because my second grader asked me who was going to take care of them if I work. Bless her heart.) I get holidays and summers off!

This job is such a blessing and was dropped in my lap. I didn’t hunt and stress myself out. It came at just the right time.

I am beginning a new stage in my life. While I will miss my volunteering days (and volunteer buddies) terribly, I need to be around people more. I am thrilled to be able to contribute financially again (and so is my husband), but the best part is feeling I am right where I belong. Right where God wants me.

If you are in a time of waiting and praying, know that God has the right thing planned for you that will be revealed when you are ready. Don’t push for it sooner so you, too, can be right where God wants you.

It is the best place, after all!

Linking with Holley Gerth

16 thoughts on “August Changes

  1. Thank you, Sarah! This is such a sweet story of God’s goodness and your eyes that see it as such! Your dad wondered if you could save even more money by dropping your gym membership, since all that lifting and carrying will be a pretty good daily work out!

  2. Praise the Lord! Oh, how good our God is to us! 🙂 I love how God truly cares about us and about our lives, and He provides what we need in ways we could never even have dreamed of. I’m so happy for you!

  3. Sarah,
    So glad you found a job that works perfectly for your schedule and for your girls! I love how God redirects our efforts to show us something new and it sounds as if your new job will offer you some new opportunities to be around new people — and that’s always exciting! I can’t wait to hear more about your work adventures — because work is always an adventure, isn’t it?!! 🙂

  4. That’s why I know going back wasn’t right for me this year. I was considering it too, but nothing came along that would work and I am taking it to mean that this isn’t the right time and focusing on my work at home stuff.

  5. This is so awesome Sarah!! Praise! ♥ I’ve been struggling with my current job a long time and waiting for God to open up the right door… So happy for your blessings!

Leave a Reply

