My Book Has Arrived! plus Giveaway

IMG_9382

After all the blood, sweat, and tears, my book is finished! It feels surreal to say that. Earlier this week, I got the first copy in the mail and started crying. It looks so beautiful! I had it edited and had a cover made for it but published it myself through Createspace.

The moment I hit “Publish,” my girls were on either side of me on the couch and James sat across from us. We are going through the intentional spending experience together, so I loved that they got to be with me at the beginning of this journey.

In case you haven’t heard about our intentional spending, I began to write about it last summer. This is my first post. For three months, I gave up buying things I didn’t need. Splurges I gave up included books and makeup (funny that I now sell makeup!) The money our family saved began to go to others. We now sponsor a little girl through Compassion International and support missionary families every month. When I see a need, I help without hesitating. The changes have really lodged in our hearts, and I thought others could benefit from this experiment. Thus, Intentional Spending: Spending Less So Others Have More was born.

The writing process taught me so much. I learned that I can do anything with God. None of this was in my power-HE gets all the glory. The words, the ideas, the chapters. I would be sitting there staring at the computer wondering what to type if I hadn’t prayed each time I sat down to write. The only proof of my work would be a puddle of drool.

I learned that while I love writing this blog, one book is enough for me. The amount of hours I spent alone, (no, the dog doesn’t count until he can tell me what to write), writing about one topic day after day was excruciating for me. Unless God taps me on the shoulder again, I’m out y’all. I still get to call myself an author after one book 😉

I learned that all the work was worth it. Tears come when I think about our family’s book, and I think about our story changing other people’s lives. That is what God does-He put us here to make a difference. I affect others and they go on to change those around them.

A book about giving wouldn’t be the same without part of the proceeds going to a good cause. Two dollars from every sale will go to NorthStar Church’s BOLD fund. We are raising money to pay off the remainder of our mortgage. Once it is paid off, we will be able to do so much more for our community!

To purchase a copy, click here for the book version and here for the Kindle version. I know God will put it in the right hands.

I am going to give away a copy! In the comment section, please tell me what you would give up so someone else could have more. I will pick a winner next week!

Linking with Holley Gerth and Faith Along the Way

18 thoughts on “My Book Has Arrived! plus Giveaway

  1. I’ve found that there’s very little that is absolutely needed. Moving has cemented that in my soul. If I never see another box it’ll be too soon …

    Great big hugs and congrats, sweet friend!

    1. I know exactly what you mean. I almost got irritated with people buying my youngest gifts for her birthday 😉
      Thank you for all your love and encouragement, Linda!

  2. First of all, congratulations. Tears? Totally normal. You worked for this girl!
    Second…
    Just before Iogging on I was reading through Exodus. I drew a star by Ex 35:5. Specifically where it states, “Let those with generous hearts present the following gifts to the Lord…” Did you hear that? He didn’t say “Let those who have money” or “Let those who have time.” Nope. Simply “Let those with generous hearts…” And then I found you at the Saturday Soiree. Coincidence???
    How beautiful your generous heart Sarah.
    Blessings,

    1. Thank you for your sweet words!
      What a great verse! I think we often feel like if we don’t have a lot to give, there is no point in trying. But so many people are struggling around the world that every little bit helps. We can all give up a little so someone can have a lot.
      Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Way to go on publishing a book!!! I’m hoping to click that “publish” button soon on one, too – so I know it’s a big process. Look forward to reading it.

  4. Oh wow Sarah!!! ♥♥♥ So excited for you and the message God has for you in all of it!! Your question pricks a soft spot in my hard about giving up things… time, money, talents… and I realize how easy it is for me to hold all of that too tightly. Time to clean house- in more ways than one! Thanks for making me sit up and listen to what God wants me to hear today! ♥

  5. Sarah, Congratulations! I co-authored my first book through CreateSpace…there is something special that God plants in our hearts with the word “author”…you feel like an author and writing flows like a river…a Holy Spirit River…many blessings to you and your sweet family ❤️

  6. Congratulation, Sarah! I hear good things about CreateSpace, and I’m pondering a few projects. But I sure hear you when you say that writing about one topic is exhausting! I think that’s why I love blogging so much!

Leave a Reply

