Perspective

Working with hospice patients, I heard interesting stories. These sweet people were at the end of their life here on earth and knew it, and it made them reflective. Do you know what they talked about?

Money? No.

Things they bought? Nope.

They talked about experiences. They told me about moments they cherished. They wanted me to know about their families. How many brothers and sisters they had. Their spouse and kids. Some stories had heartbreak, but looking back, they were still able to smile.

Perspective.

Right now I am close to the situations in my life, but one day I will look back at it all. I want to be able to know I made wise choices. I hope I see that my priorities were in the right order. One day, and none of us know when that day will be, we will all be ready to leave the earth. When that happens, most of the stuff we seem to value will not matter. The people we love and the times we spent with them will take over those spots. The times we were so stressed out will either fade in our minds or come together and make sense.

There will be no room for the junk we are carrying around now.

One of the visits stands out to me. A woman had lost her son in Vietnam and, 40 years later, it was still difficult. But she chose to focus on the fact that she was able to dance with her husband for 75 years. The smile on her face as she talked about her husband and other son was radiant. She suffered a great loss but didn’t become bitter. When we choose to see the good instead of magnifying the bad, our lives turn out different.

I, for one, want to live my life with the focus on who over what, and savor my time over my bank account. When I look back, I hope to see how I helped others and the impact I had on the world. I want to raise my girls with the insight to see the bigger picture. I hope I never forget that parts of life will fade away and other parts will last.

Most of all, I want to look back on it all and know the pieces fit together and created a beautiful life. How about you?

Linking with Faith Along the Way

6 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. With the death of my dad and my little grandson in the last 2 months, all I can say is amen, Sarah.

    All the accumulations won’t mean a thing. It’s all about the relationships, the love, the service to Christ, the legacy of memories that are sweet, that override the hard times that weren’t so good.

    Thanks for going there today. You are so spot on …

    Weekend joys … and a couple of hugs to you.

  2. This is a beautiful reflection, Sarah. It must be hard to work with hospice patients, but how refreshing that they remember their people and the experiences they’ve lived with those they love. Kind of gives a new perspective on life, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

