The Year of Awesome

This, right now, is my favorite time of year (usually minus the cold, but it has been in the 70’s this week, so, score!) The day after Christmas I begin reflecting on the year and looking forward to the new year. This is the time when I am still basking in the glow of Christmas joy and my heart wonders what all is possible.

After pondering 2015, I had a revelation. This year, for the first time in over a decade, I am not waiting for the other shoe to drop. See, back in 2002, Mom had been sick (again), for ten months. We lost her that August. Not long after, Dad was in the hospital because of a blood clot. Then Grandma, who had lived with us for fourteen years, died eight months after Mom. Talk about going from one crisis to the next.

Until recently, my heart dropped when the phone rang after 8 PM. (Who calls me that late unless it is an emergency? We are all watching TV after the kids are in bed in my circle.) Even after something good would happen, I inadvertently prepared myself for the next bad thing. Call it self-preservation if you want, but it was really a lack of trust. Yikes.

I think it took 2015 to shake that out of me. It has been a big year!

We moved to our new house in January. A week later, the girls and I started selling Younique and donating half of our proceeds to our new Food for the Poor project. I spent eight months writing and editing my book, Intentional Spending. Lauren was baptized on the anniversary of Mom going to heaven. Then I plunged head first into my first job outside the home in years. My boss and coworkers are amazing, and I only almost burned the school down once. The year has not been perfect of course, but no life is.

God knew I needed lots of good to finally move past the fear. I needed extended periods of awesome to stop anticipating the worst. God calmed me down by pouring out blessings on my family. I am now free to look forward to 2016 and be excited about what God is going to do.

What has this year taught you?

Linking with Holley Gerth

4 thoughts on “The Year of Awesome

  1. Such beautiful lessons! So glad God proved this true in your life this year: “God knew I needed lots of good to finally move past the fear.” And may he be ever faithful in 2016 as well! Happy New Year!

  2. Periods of awesome. Love how you penned that Sarah! What a grace you’ve been given … and you’ve invested it well!

    Hugs to you as we move into 2016, friend! Let’s hear it for an awesome + year ahead …

Leave a Reply

