Will Peace Flow Through Me?

Welcome to a shiny new year, bursting with opportunities for greatness! It is the time of year we evaluate where we are and decide to make changes. Resolutions may be a thing of the past for me, but it doesn’t mean I won’t work on something. For most of us, the idea of resolving to change an aspect of our personality or lifestyle is one that doesn’t stick. Some years, I instead feel led to choose one word.

The word I am focusing on this year is peace. My heart tends toward anxious, so I would like to establish a steady stream of peace. As I write, the lyrics to “It Is Well with My Soul” are running through my mind and tears are building up. “When peace, like a river, attendeth my way, when sorrows like sea billows roll; whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say, It is well, it is well with my soul.” What powerful words that have made a lasting impact.

My goal for this year is that no matter what happens, I want to be able to say it is well with my soul. Am I afraid I am asking for trouble? No. What I am asking for is calm when trouble surrounds me. For it will. Bad things are going to happen in 2016, as they do every year. My goal is to hang onto peace when the world is crumbling around me (even if it just feels that way.)

I know it is possible to have a sense of calm amidst chaos. Two years ago was the most tumultuous, gut – wrenching year I had had in a long time. Things literally went from bad to worse and yet I had never felt such peace. I hate that I had to discover it under such circumstances, but we don’t learn peace through calm. It is only poured through us when it is all we have.

Another aspect of peace I wish to grasp in the coming year is acceptance. In general, I get antsy about where I am in life or that time is too fast or too slow. Instead, I aim to enjoy where I am and not buy into a frenzied life that is wished away. I intend to savor the moments, whether they happen as I plan or not.

All this is possible if I cling to Jesus and trust that He wants what is best for me. He will guide me into the good experiences and through the bad times if I let Him.

Happy New Year to all of my friends! This will be an amazing year!

Linked to Holley Gerth

6 thoughts on “Will Peace Flow Through Me?

  1. yes! let’s aim for an amazing year! i have absolutely no idea what that might look like around here, but that’s ok. i know He knows. and right about now that’s good enough for me!

    hugs!

  2. I’d say your year is off to a great start by making the decision to hang onto peace whatever comes your way. God is forever faithful and the peace He gives is sweet. My One Word for this year is “ENJOY” and like you, I am trying to rid my days of feeling frenzied or overwhelmed. Both steal our peace and prevent us from enjoying our day.
    So today let’s declare – “This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad.”

Leave a Reply

