The Opposite of Peace

Jittery. Why do I feel like I have had too much caffeine? My brain won’t stop. My inner monologue keeps going. Attention span? What attention span?

Oh, I know why. It is because the word I am focusing on this year is peace. As soon as you start asking God for something, Satan starts throwing the opposite at you. Apparently, the opposite of peace for me right now is jittery. Between being awake for hours last night due to my brain being on overdrive and my inability to sit still and focus right now, I am not feeling very peaceful.

Yes, I claimed peace for this year, but that doesn’t mean I can sit back and let it wash over me. (That sounds wonderful, though. A peace bath.) It requires work and constant vigilance. There is a reason the word peace kept coming at me before I chose it. I can be anxious and miss out on the blessings of a calm heart.

If something small comes at me and I freak out (hypothetically speaking, of course,) how am I going to react when something bigger happens? Will I get out of my own way and let God work? Probably not. Now is the time to prepare and train myself to let go of fear and worry. They won’t solve any problems anyways.

This year is my training ground. Since it is being used for training purposes, there will be off days. These are days where I get away from what I have been working toward and know I need to get back on track. All of life is a process and this is no different. None of us are ever instantly where we need to be and that is OK. The rough days serve as a reminder of our end goal. The days of a peaceful and calm heart keep me going.

On the days I need more help, here are some verses that speak to me:

Psalm 29:11 The Lord gives strength to His people; the Lord blesses His people with peace.

Psalm 34:14 Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it.

Isaiah 26:3 You will keep in perfect peace all who trust in You, all whose thoughts are fixed on You!

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

I am learning that peace is a blessing and one I have to accept. It is not automatic. I need to seek and pursue it daily. As long as I stand firm in Jesus and focus on Him, I will be rewarded with a peaceful heart. And really, there is nothing better!

Linking with Holley Gerth

2 thoughts on “The Opposite of Peace

  1. Sarah,
    I was intrigued because of your post title since my post today is about peace, too! I just love all the scriptures you included about peace, and how accurate you are that peace is something we pursue and set our hearts on, isn’t it? It is definitely an exercise in discipline — it’s not automatic. Here’s to pursuing peace with you this year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

