He Is Not Far

When I am at an utter loss for words and even thoughts, when my little brain can’t process anymore, I sometimes turn to my Bible. That needs to happen more….The other night I found these gems.

“The Lord your God is with you, the mighty warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in His love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

“But You, Lord, do not be far from me. You are my strength; come quickly to help me.” Psalm 22:19

Yes, I know God is with me and fights with me and fights for me and loves me, but at that moment, I needed the reminder. I love the image that God is right here. He is ready to fight for me. That will never change, no matter what I do.

Sometimes we need to cry out to God to stay with us. He loves to hear from us and will not judge our lack of faith or our weakness. He knows about all of that and just wants us to talk, to open up to Him.

We are kind of like moody teenagers. God is our Father who wants honesty from us and open communication. I don’t have teenagers yet, but my almost 10 year old sometimes tries to be one. For now, she tells me when something is wrong, but I know the days are coming when she will keep things from me. It is part of growing up.

As parents, we want our kids to know we will always be there for them and will love them no matter what. But being there is physically not always going to be feasible. Isn’t it awesome to know God really is beside us always, ready to help? And isn’t it great that we can question and yell and get it all out and God will still love us?

We may suspect how our kids are feeling or what they are going through, but God truly knows it before we say anything. He understands us like no other and wants to help us put the pieces together. I want to let God be a part of that process, even if it means telling Him the stuff He already knows. Just like I want my kids to tell me.

Let’s call out to God when we need His assurance. Let’s remember He delights in us. And let’s be honest about how we feel. That connection is what God is looking for from us!

Linking with Holley Gerth

4 thoughts on “He Is Not Far

  1. Hi Sarah … thanks for sharing that Zephaniah passage. It’s one of my favorites! Just the thought that the Creator of the universe rejoices over me … and does it while He sings … well, it’s such glorious encouragement!

    I hope your weekend is filled with that kind of joy, that kind of encouragement and blessing. Enjoy, friend …

  2. I love the verse from Zephaniah too, Sarah … so beautiful. I think something happens inside us when we tell God what He already knows … perspectives change, hearts are softened, peace comes in. There’s such comforting truth in what you’ve written here … thank you!

Leave a Reply

