My Money Rule

There are times I feel like a little kid. I see something and I want it NOW! No, I don’t want to think about it. It should be mine.

That is why I make myself wait at least a day.

Over the years, I think I am learning more about money and, more specifically, not spending it all. There doesn’t seem to be a point where I can suddenly resist all advertising. A day has not happened where I woke up and decided I will never want again. (Wouldn’t that be fantastic?) I have to work at it. I have to be conscious of my tendencies. I have to be intentional.

So I make myself wait at least one day to see if the desire is passing. I think about it and figure out if I will really use this. Sometimes I question my motives for why I want this item. (Is it because other people have it, I think I am supposed to have it, or do I truly want it?) Look, maybe this is just me, but I can be a little flighty when it comes to purchases. Maybe I am feeling emotional that day. If I am feeling sad, happy, lonely, celebratory, or pretty much any emotion, I can justify that purchase.

In that moment, at least.

The next day, my emotions have most likely changed, and it wasn’t due to that purchase. It is more likely the emotions changed on their own or some other one pushed them out.

No one wants to wake up in the morning with regret. I have heard it said that we regret the things we didn’t do more than the things we did. In financial matters, I think it is the opposite. We are much more likely to regret things we wasted money on than the times we walked away.

If I take the time to ponder it, I will make a better choice. When my head is clear and I still want it, (and it is something we can afford,) I go for it. Without regret.

The truth ย here is that too many things are impulse buys that won’t change our lives. The only thing that will happen if we don’t buy that item is that we will have more money. I try to remember the excitement of a purchase is short lived and then my brain will be looking forward to the next buy. I don’t want to live like that.

Say it with me: Just because we can, doesn’t mean we should.

Linking with Holley Gerth

4 thoughts on “My Money Rule

Leave a Reply

